Report: North Wales Go Race MTB 2014 series

Report: North Wales Go Race MTB 2014 series

Home » Mountain Bike

Published: 21 November 2014

Nant BH Outdoor Centre near Llanrwst was the venue for the final round of the Go Race MTB North Wales Series on November 8th hosted by Clwb Beicio Mynydd Dyffryn Conwy.

The predicted heavy rain for the morning thankfully stayed away allowing the 57 competitors a fairly dry race on the all-weather surfaces at Nant.

The under 6’s (of which there were 14 in total) and under 8’s raced over a shortened course with the remaining categories racing the full 1K course that included  the vast majority of the technical sections that Nant provides with ‘B lines’ incorporated for the less confident riders.

After some competitive racing, the riders could choose either to go for a ride in Gwydyr or receive coaching on the skills course whilst all the results were finalised.

The traditional BBQ followed to satisfy the appetites of the riders and their families - many thanks to all the parents who donated cakes/sweets etc. and to the ‘cooks’ for their help.

Finally, it was time for the ‘numbers draw’ and the presentation of the trophies. A big thank you to 1868 Racing in Llanrwst and to Beics Brenin at Coed y Brenin for donating prizes for the ‘numbers draw’ enabling every rider to go away with a prize.

With the trophies presented, there was one last presentation. Pauline Stewart stepped down from her role of rider registration and lap scoring, a role she has undertook in all but a few of the 48 Go Race MTB’s that have taken place in North Wales over the last five years.  Many thanks from the riders, parents and Welsh Cycling goes to Pauline for all her hard work.

And finally, a big thank you to all the clubs and volunteers whose help has made the 2014 series such a success - it could not run without you, and also to the staff of the venues used during 2014.

Dates and venues for the 2015 Series will be published in the New Year.

If you would like more information, please contact Mike Tong:


Final Series Standings

Youth Boys

1. Peter Stewart (Dreigiau Coed y Brenin)

2. Jack Brookes

3. Mal Taylor (Dreigiau Coed y Brenin)

Juvenile Boys

1. Tim Freeman (Dreigiau Coed y Brenin)

2. Ifan Oldfield (Clwb Beicio Mynydd Dyffryn Conwy)

3. Robbie White (CBMDC)

Juvenile Girls

1. Katie Hesdon (Dreigiau Coed y Brenin)

2. Catrin Williams

Under 12 Boys

1. Scott Williams (Clwb Beicio Mynydd Dyffryn Conwy)

2. Ieuan Jones (Clwb Beicio Mynydd Dyffryn Conwy)

3. Michael Hughes (Clwb Beicio Mynydd Dyffryn Conwy)

Under 12 Girls

1. Josie Nelson (Solihull CC)

2. Rhianon Tanley

Under 10 Boys

1. Huw Jones (Clwb Beicio Dwyfor)

2. Fletcher White (CBMDC)

3. Osian Jones (CBMDC)

Under 10 Girls

1. Megan Blackburn (CBMDC)

2. Teleri Lewis  

3. Nia Barnwell (CBMDC)

Under 8 Boys

1. Jack Bilton (CBMDC)

2. Henry Timewell

3. Tom Carson (CBMDC)

Under 8 Girls

1. Faye Williams (CBMDC)

2. Mari Jones (Clwb Beicio Dwyfor)

3. Layla Bradbrook (VC Melyd)

Full results can be found here