Team GB Announce Cycling Team for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games

Team GB Announce Cycling Team for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games


The British Olympic Association (BOA) has today named the riders who will compete in the cycling events at the rescheduled Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

26 riders from the Great Britain Cycling Team, of which 16 will make their Team GB debut, have been selected to represent Team GB, with British Cycling setting themselves the aim of being more competitive across the cycling disciplines at the Tokyo Games.

In the road events, twin brothers Adam and Simon Yates have been selected for the men’s road race, as have Geraint Thomas and Tao Geoghegan Hart, both of whom will also contest the men’s time trial event. In the women’s road race, London 2012 Olympic Games silver medallist Lizzie Deignan will be joined by Anna Shackley, with Anna also competing in the women’s time trial.

In the men’s mountain bike event, the reigning under-23 World Champion Tom Pidcock is making an excellent recovery from his broken collarbone, thanks to the collaborative support from the medical staff at the Great Britain Cycling Team and at his trade team, and is set to make his first appearance at Olympic level, while Evie Richards will also make her Olympic debut in the women’s mountain bike race.

BMX Supercross will see Kye Whyte and Beth Shriever represent Team GB, both making their Olympic debuts, while the BMX Freestyle event will be contested for the first time in Tokyo, with world bronze medallist Charlotte Worthington and Declan Brooks ready to represent the nation.

The competition schedule then turns to the track, where Laura Kenny and Jason Kenny are both preparing to make history by confirming themselves as the most successful female and male track cyclists ever. Joining Laura in the women’s endurance squad are fellow Olympic Champions Katie Archibald and Elinor Barker along with Neah Evans and Josie Knight. In the men’s sprint squad, Ryan Owens and Jack Carlin will join Jason Kenny.

Ed Clancy will be aiming to win his fourth consecutive team pursuit gold medal, and he will be joined in the men’s endurance squad by Ethan Hayter, Ethan Vernon, Matt Walls and Ollie Wood. Olympic bronze medallist Katy Marchant will represent Team GB in the women’s sprint and keirin events.

Speaking about the selection, British Cycling Performance Director Stephen Park said: “I am incredibly excited by the squad we have selected to represent Team GB in Tokyo, and there will be plenty for British cycling fans to cheer for during the Olympic Games.

“We have six Olympic Champions bolstering our squad, with Geraint Thomas, Ed Clancy, Jason Kenny, Laura Kenny, Elinor Barker and Katie Archibald all very driven to add more medals to their palmares.

“At the other end of the spectrum, we pride ourselves on the strength of our pathway, and this is evident in the team we have selected with recent Academy graduates making our Olympic team. Josie Knight, Ethan Vernon and Anna Shackley have seized every opportunity this additional year has given them and it will be testament to the work of our pathway programme to see them on the start line in Tokyo.

“I’m proud of the focus the support team have made in attempting to diversify our medals, with a real investment going into the BMX and mountain bike disciplines. I’m certain we will see this investment pay off with great performances in Tokyo which will then stand us in good stead leading into Paris 2024.

“We are renowned for our domination in the track events and, while we have a realistic expectation that the rest of the world will be more competitive than ever this year, I am still extremely excited to see every single member of the track squad in the hunt for a medal in Tokyo.

“Everyone on the Great Britain Cycling Team is committed to doing the jersey proud, and this will be no different when we compete for Team GB at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.”

Mark England said: “I am delighted to be able to welcome such a talented cycling team to Team GB for Tokyo 2020.

“Team GB have a proud track cycling record at the Olympic Games and it’s exciting to see BMX and mountain bike disciplines alongside some very experienced road cyclists selected to the team today.

“The Olympic experience in this team is hugely impressive and I have no doubt it will be a valuable asset for those set to make their Olympic debuts in Tokyo. I am fully confident that the athletes selected today will put in some fantastic performances this summer.”

Team GB Cycling Team:

Men’s Road:

Tao Geoghegan Hart
Geraint Thomas
Adam Yates
Simon Yates

Men’s TT:

Tao Geoghegan Hart
Geraint Thomas

Women’s Road:

Lizzie Deignan
Anna Shackley

Women’s TT:

Anna Shackley

Men’s MTB:

Tom Pidcock

Women’s MTB:

Evie Richards

Men’s BMX SX:

Kye Whyte
Ross Cullen (travelling reserve)

Women’s BMX SX:

Beth Shriever

Men’s BMX Freestyle Park:

Declan Brooks
James Jones (travelling reserve)

Women’s BMX Freestyle Park:

Charlotte Worthington

Men’s Endurance:

Ed Clancy
Ethan Hayter
Ethan Vernon
Matt Walls
Ollie Wood
Charlie Tanfield (travelling reserve)

Women’s Endurance:

Katie Archibald
Elinor Barker
Neah Evans
Laura Kenny
Josie Knight

Women’s Sprint:

Katy Marchant

Men’s Sprint:

Jack Carlin
Jason Kenny
Ryan Owens
Phil Hindes (travelling reserve)

For further information, please visit

Team GB’s Tokyo 2020 team announcements are proudly supported by our Great British Holidays Partner Haven. To view more please click here.

See the full schedule of events and our We'll Be Ready films here.