Competition & Event Safety Commission: Welsh Cycling


The Competition & Event Safety Commission of Welsh Cycling guides the planning, evaluation, safety and monitoring of standards for competition across all six cycle discplines in Wales including road, track, mountain bike, Cyclco-cross, BMX, and Cycle Speedway.

The Commission meets approximately quarterly in South East Wales, to review and endorse the annual calendar of cycling competition in Wales across all cycle disciplines or respond to matters arising. It offers advice and support to guide the development of competition pathways, resources and education.  

The Commission is also supports the directing of the Community Safety Accreditation Scheme (CSAS) which includes the training and employment of accredited cycle event marshals, working with Gwent Police.  

To ensure that matters concerning events and competition in North Wales and West Wales are represented, two Sub-Commissions meet twice annually, in Llanrwst and Carmarthen. These are led by the Chair of the Competition & Event Safety Commission and a representative of Welsh Cycling, and attended by representatives of local clubs, officials and event organisers.  

Current members of the Competition & Event Safety Commission are:

Liz Slater (Chair)
Christopher Landon
Neil McKenzie
William Pring
Anne Russell
Barrie Whitehead

Latest minutes of the Competition & Event Safety Commission:

September 2014

May 2014

March 2014

November 2013

October 2013

July 2013

April 2013

January 2013