Road: Davies leads Junior Tour of Wales


Location: Nantyglo, Brymawr
Event: 24-26 August 2013
Report: Guy Swarbrick
Video: Malwyn Ransom 

Wales A rider Scott Davies took a narrow lead into the second day of the Junior Tour of Wales after winning the opening time trial and then taking second place to James Knox (Champion System/Maxgear/Base) on the 72-km second stage.

Davies held a one-second advantage over Holland’s Sam Oomen (TWC Plijnenberg) with Knox in third place at 23 seconds.

The time trial took the riders up the Blaenavon side of the famed Tumble climb, and Davies completed the 7.6-km in 12-12, a second quicker than Oomen.

The two were well clear of third-placed Chris Lawless (Kuota-Spinergy-GSG), 12-26, with a further two seconds to Matt Gibson (Velocity WD-40) in fourth.

Davies was also fastest over the timed final climb to take an early lead in the King of the Mountains competition ahead of Gabriel Cullaigh (RST Racing) and Knox, who tied for second three seconds back.

The second stage took the riders on a loop north from Brynmawr to Brecon and Bronllys and then back south through Talgarth and Bwlch to finish on the summit of Llangynidr Mountain.

Jacob Scott (Team Sportscover-Haribo) dominated the sprints for the points competition, taking maximum points on the first run through Llangynidr ahead of team-mate Jake Womersley, Leon Mazzone (Team Microgaming Isle of Man) and Tristan Robbins (Cardiff JIF).

At the first King of the Mountains prime at Brecon it was Scott, still at the head of the race, who took maximum points with Stephen Williams (Wales A) in second place, Lawless third and Webber fourth.

It was Scott again at the second sprint at Talgarth, at the head of a break of six riders with a slim gap over the main bunch, with Zach May (Wales A) taking second, Eddie Dunbar (Sensa Munster) third and Charlie Tanfield (Teamwallis CHH Racing Team) the final point.

Passing through Llangynidr for the second time Scott completed a clean sweep in the points competition, earning a seven point overnight lead, ahead of Dunbar, who secured second overall, Joe Kirkham (Hargroves Cycles-Specialized) and Mazzone.

The break wouldn’t survive the final climb, and by the summit the riders were spread all over the mountain.

What was left of a reformed lead group was blown apart inside the last two kilometres when Knox attacked and dropped his main rivals, taking a fine solo win by six seconds from Davies and Oomen. Dunbar proved he could climb as well as sprint, taking fourth a further ten seconds back, with Team De Ver duo Ben Chapman and Ashley Dennis coming over together in fifth and sixth.

Oomen’s strong finish kept him within a second of Davies’s overall lead with Knox climbing to third, 23 seconds off the leader.

Knox’s win also earned him six points in the King of the Mountains competition with Davies taking five – a reversal of the Stage 1 result - which saw the two tied for the lead.

For more photographs, see


Stage 1
1 Scott Davies (Wales A) 12-12
2 Sam Oomen (TWC Pijnenburg) at 1 sec
3 Chris Lawless (Kuota-Spinergy-GSG) at 14 sec
4 Matt Gibson (Velocity WD-40) at 16 sec
5 Gabriel Cullaigh (RST Racing Team) at 18 sec
6 Joe Evans (Hargroves Cycles-Specialized) at 26 sec
7 James Knox (Champion System/Maxgear/Base) at 29 sec
8 Stephen Williams (Wales A) at 36 sec
9 Gavin Shuttleworth (Team ASL360) at 36 sec
10 Thomas Baylis (Mid Devon CC) at 37 sec
King of the Mountains: Scott Davies

Stage 2

1 James Knox 1-52-23
2 Scott Davies at 6 sec
3 Sam Oomen same time
4 Eddie Dunbar (Sensa Munster) at 16 sec
5 Ben Chapman (Team De Ver) at 23 sec
6 Ashley Dennis (Team De Ver) same time
7 Stelios Farantakis (TWC Pijnenburg) at 49 sec
8 James Shaw (Forme Bikes UK) at 55 sec
9 Peter Cocker (Forme Bikes UK) at 59 sec
10 Jake Kelly (Team Microgaming Isle of Man) at 1-00
Points: Jacob Scott (Team Sportscover-Haribo)
King of the Mountains: James Knox

Overall (after Stage 2)

1 Scott Davies 2-04-41
2 Sam Oomen at 1 sec
3 James Knox at 23 sec
4 Eddie Dunbar at 48 sec
5 Ashley Dennis at 1-01
6 Ben Chapman at 1-17
7 Chris Lawless at 1-21
8 Joe Evans at 1-26
9 James Shaw at 1-28
10 Jake Kelly at 1-36

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.