Welsh cyclists honoured at British Cycling awards evening

Welsh cyclists honoured at British Cycling awards evening


Bill Owen and Nicole Cooke were amongst the cycling stars at the 2014 British Cycling annual awards dinner, celebrating the sporting successes of 2013 and inducting British Cycling greats into the Hall of Fame.

The event took place at the Hilton Birmingham Metropole with a trophy presentation for national champions and series winners taking place in the afternoon before the evening awards dinner, hosted by Ned Boulting.

The Brian Cossavella Trophy, for services to event organisation, was awarded to Bill Owen, organiser of the Abergavenny Festival of Cycling that includes the Grand Prix of Wales, Iron Mountain Sportive and Wales Open Criterium. The event has continued to grow year on year, with 2014 seeing the return of the British National Road and Time Trial Championships  to Monmouthshire.

Welsh cycling star Nicole Cooke MBE was inducted into the British Cycling Hall of Fame for her successes in the sport of cycling. Cooke was the first Briton to win Olympic and world road race titles in the same year, and was nine times crowned British Road Race Champion. Nicole Cooke is one of British Cycling’s most decorated athletes.

Anne Adams-King, CEO of Welsh Cycling said: “I would like to congratulate both Bill and Nicole on their awards, and thank them for their many years of commitment to cycling in both Wales and Great Britain.

Bill has brought many high profile events to South Wales, and continues to support cycling at all levels.  Once again, he is bringing the National Road Race Championships to Wales this summer, an event we are all looking forward too.

Nicole Cooke has achieved phenomenal success in her cycling career, before her retirement in 2013. She is Wales’ most decorated female cyclist and fully deserves her place in the British Cycling Hall of Fame.”