Darren Tudor and Liz Slater shortlisted for the 2013 Wales Sport Awards

Darren Tudor and Liz Slater shortlisted for the 2013 Wales Sport Awards


BBC Cymru Wales and Sport Wales have announced finalists in six of the eleven categories at the Wales Sport Awards, the new awards ceremony to recognise the very best of elite and grassroots sport in Wales.

Darren Tudor has been shortlisted for Coach of the Year

Darren Tudor, Head Coach at Welsh Cycling, has been shortlisted for Coach of the Year. In his coaching career, Darren has coached riders who have gone on to achieve national, world and olympic titles. Over the last twelve months, Darren has also coached Wales' first medal winning UCI Track Cycling Team at World Cup and international events, in preparation for the 2014 Commonwealth Games.  

Liz Slater, facilitator of the Welsh Cyclo Cross League, has been shortlisted for Volunteer of the Year. Liz has overseen the growth of the league over the last six years to almost double it's participation. Liz is a pillar of the commissaire community across road, cyclo-cross and mountain bike disciplines, officiating at major events in Wales, allowing riders to compete in cycle sport. She has also acted as commissaire and organiser mentor, supporting and developing the skills of other volunteers in Wales.

The finalists in six of the Wales Sport Awards categories are:

Young Coach of the Year
Ellie Glastonbury – Cheerleading, Dance and Gymnastics, Cardiff (Central Explosion Cheer Academy)
Sian Lewis – Gymnastics, Neath (Neath-Afan Gymnastics Club)
Kelly Mayhew – Sailing, Pembrokeshire (Neyland Yacht Club)
Community Coach of the Year
Samar Wafa – Zumba, Cardiff
Ed Thompson – Athletics (Pole Vault), Carmarthenshire
Nicola Lewis – Gymnastics, Neath (Neath-Afan Gymnastics Club)
Young Volunteer of the Year
Nazrul Islam – Multi-Sport, Newport
Kat Lovett – Football, Caerphilly (Treowen Stars)
Nathan Jones – Athletics, Carmarthenshire (Carmarthen and District Harriers Athletics Club)
Volunteer of the Year
Elizabeth Slater – Cycling, Powys
Chris Terry – Rowing, Swansea (Mumbles Amateur Rowing Club)
Nicky Morris – Football, Powys (Newtown Whitestars Junior Football Club)
Coach to Disabled People of the Year
Lee Coulson – Wheelchair Basketball, Ceredigion (West Coast Warriors Wheelchair Basketball Club)
Keith Rollinson – Sailing, Powys (Clywedog Sailing Club)
Jean Jones – Gymnastics, Pembrokeshire (National)
Coach of the Year
Melissa Hyndman - Netball
Warren Gatland – Rugby Union
Darren Tudor - Cycling

Liz Slater is a regular organiser and commissaire of events in Wales

Head of Sport at BBC Cymru Wales, Geoff Williams said:

“We are one step closer to the Awards in December and on the strength of the nominees we've seen so far it will certainly be a night to remember. By bringing together the Sport Wales and BBC Cymru Wales Awards we have created a unique opportunity to see excellence in Welsh Sport recognised at one prestigious ceremony.

“Congratulations to all the nominees, it was a tough field and all those reaching the final should feel very proud.”

Professor Laura McAllister, Chair of Sport Wales added:

“Picking out these finalists is such a fantastic job, but so difficult at the same time. Some outstanding individuals didn’t make the top three, but we really have found the cream of the crop.

“This is an outstanding group of people who are a credit to their fellow coaches and volunteers. Every year I am humbled by the dedication of these women and men to sport in Wales and I’m looking forward to hearing more about their inspirational work.”

The two organisations have joined forces for the new event to be held on Monday, December 9, at the Sport Wales National Centre in Cardiff, which will combine the expertise of both organisations to create the country’s biggest annual sporting celebration.

The remaining categories for the 2013 Wales Sport Awards are:

*Team of the Year (panel decision)
*Lifetime achievement (panel decision)
*Carwyn James Young Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year (panel decision)
*BBC Cymru Wales Sports Personality of the Year (public vote from panel shortlist)
*The BBC Cymru Wales Sports Unsung Hero (public nomination with panel decision on winner) award will also be recognised at the event.

For more information visit www.walessportawards.org.uk