Track: Newcastle League latest results

Home » Track cycling

Location: Lyme Valley Velodrome, Newcastle
Event: 6 September 2012
Report: Chris Pyatt

The final night of this year’s Brooks Cycles Track League took place at the Lyme Valley Stadium, Newcastle under Lyme, Staffs and what a great night of racing it was.

The night’s racing started with the Freewheelers League. This year the attendances have gone up week after week with the final total being 95 registered riders. With the weather warm and sunny and the schools back the attendance in this league numbered an amazing 53 riders.

The 18 race programme saw some very spirited racing by all the riders who were cheered on by a large crowd of parents at the side of the track.

The top point’s scorers were as follows in each group;

Group 1   Chloe Jones Newcastle RC 2001

Alistair Kennington

Bradley Heath

Group 2 George Hancock

Group 3 Ruby Baldwin

      Olly Davis

The main league saw nearly 50 riders compete with the standard of racing commented upon by many observers as the best we had seen in a number of years.

The A Class endurance races were particularly fast with last year’s overall winner Robert Lambton (Brook Cycles) winning the opening eight-lap scratch race and then the final 10-mile event with an impressive attack with 2 laps to go which blew the field apart.

The 10 laps points race was won by another previous league winner in James Notley (Planet X) and the devil by junior rider Will Thomas (Velocity RT) The devil was run off at a furious pace which did not ease throughout the whole race with periods when the group was lined out instead of the usual bunch rush to the line.

The B races saw another large turnout with 18 riders competing. George Edwards ( Lyme RC)was the top points scorer as he won the 8 lap scratch, the devil and was joint winner of the course de primes with Scott Walklate (Lyme RC), Robert Standring (Team V sprint) and Alex Webb ( Lyme RC).

The final 10 mile scratch saw the B class winner being Matthew Walls ( Velocity RT) won was very close to the third place A Class rider in the final dash to the line.

The youth riders saw a big increase on last week with riders now back from the holiday season. Joe Swinnerton (Lyme RC) rode well in winning the devil. James Duncalf (Lyme RC) won the block handicap and first time rider at the track Luke Cheatham (Eastlands Velo) won the final 6 lap scratch.

The next date for the league is the Prize Presentation which takes place at St John Fisher High School, Ashfields New Road, Newcastle Under Lyme on Friday 5th October starting at 7.30pm with roller racing for under 16's then the presenting of awards at around 8.20pm. Entry is free.

All riders placed in the top three have won medals and trophies so please have a look on the Standings section of our website to see if you have made the top three.

Newcastle Track Cycling Association would like to thank all the officials who have made the league possible this year and also to the riders who have supported the league. We look forward to seeing you all and more next year.

Freewheelers League

Group 1
Race 1
1st Chloe Jones Newcastle RC 2001
2nd James Brayford Lyme RC
3rd Louis Evans

Race 2
1st Alistiar Kennington
2nd Sadie Jones
3rd Louis Evans

Race 3
1st Bradley Heath
2nd Louis Evans
3rd Sam Hall Lyme RC

Group 2
Race 1
1st George Hancock
2nd Ben Hulse
3rd Mark Adamson

Race 2
1st Kai Buckley
2nd Todd Kelly
3rd Farley Barber

Race 3
1st Chloe Tennant
2nd George Hancock
3rd Ben Hulse

Race 4
1st Jack Scott Lyme RC
2nd Natasha Sandbach
3rd Harry Brayford Lyme RC

Race 5
1st Ben Hulse
2nd George Hancock
3rd Mark Adamson

Race 6
1st Natasha Sandbach
2nd Harry Brayford
3rd Jack Scott

Group 3
Race 1
1st Joe Kelly
2nd Joshua Heath
3rd Izaak Curtis Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Oliver Peers
2nd Joe Barber NTCA
3rd Alex Leece

Race 3
1st Amilie Perry
2nd Cameron Beckett
3rd Chloe Shepherd

Race 4
1st Ruby Baldwin
2nd Jessica Hughes
3rd Evie Davis

Race 5
1st Joe Barber
2nd Joe Kelly
3rd Oliver Peers

Race 6
1st Olly Davis Lyme RC
2nd Nicholas Sandbach
3rd Chloe Shepherd

Race 7
1st Ruby Baldwin
2nd Izaak Curtis
3rd Oliver Peers

Race 8
1st Alex Leece
2nd Gracie Walker
3rd Joshua Heath

Race 9
1st Oliver Leece
2nd Olly Davis
3rd Nicholas Sandbach

Youth Block Handicap
1st James Duncalf Lyme RC
2nd Megan Williams Lyme RC
3rd Luke Cheatham Eastlands Velo

Sprinters League 2- Up TT
1st Sean Mayer Swinnerton Cycles
Phil Houlton Brooks Cycles
2nd Sophie Capewell Brooks Cycles
Joel Partington Sportcity Velo
3rd Dave Smith Stafford RC
Tony Brooks Brooks Cycles

A Class Endurance 8 lap Scratch
1st Robert Lambton Brooks Cycles
2nd Paul Whatmough Shepherds Cycles
3rd Adria Adgar Balanced Performance

B Class 8 lap Scratch
1st George Edwards Lyme RC
2nd Paige Millward Lyme RC
3rd Scott Walklate Lyme RC

Youth Devil
1st Joe Swinnerton Lyme RC
2nd Liam Zwetschnikow Lyme RC
3rd Luke Cheatham

Sprinters Team Sprint
1st Debbie Capewell Brooks Cycles
Tony Brooks
Sean Mayer

A Class Endurance 10 lap Points
1st James Notley Planet X
2nd Will Thomas Velocity RT
3rd Alex Simmons Swinnertons Cycles

B Class Devil
1st George Edwards
2nd Paige Millward
3rd Robert Standring Team V Sprint

Youth Team Sprint
1st Sam Hall Lyme RC
Bradley Hill Lyme RC
James Duncalf
Ashleigh Williams Lyme RC
Luke Cheatham
Liam Zwetschnikow

Keirin League
1st Sean Mayer
2nd Phil Houlton
3rd Joel Partington
4th Dave Smith
5th Tony Brooks
6th Debbie Capewell

A Class Endurance Devil
1st Will Thomas
2nd Alex Simmons
3rd Christian Braybrooke Velocity RT

B Class Course de Primes
1st Scott Walklate
George Edwards
Robert Standring
Alex Webb All 1 point

Youth 5 lap Scratch
1st Luke Cheatham
2nd Joe Swinnerton
3rd Liam Zwetschnikow

10 Mile Scratch
1st Robert Lambton
2nd Adrian Adgar
3rd James Notley

B Class
1st Matthew Walls Velocity RT
2nd George Edwards
3rd Robert Standring

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.