Raymond Brown Track League 15 May

Home » Track cycling

Venue: Bournmouth Cycling Centre
Event: 15 May 2012
Report: Eamonn Deane


The threat of rain receded and the racing was hotter than the air temperature at the third Raymond Brown Track League Meeting which went on to provide a couple of track firsts. High point of the night was the setting of the first track record in Competition when the Poole Wheelers proved too strong for VC St Raphael in the Team Sprint Challenge. Their time of 58.39 secs was delivered by a team of Daryl Price, Harrison Fielding and Andy Buddle and now sets the benchmark for other teams and clubs to step up and challenge the new Champions.

The smaller field of Group A riders had a busy night with aspiring Youth riders Harrison Fielding Poole Wheelers and Joe Truman I-Team CC giving the experienced Adam Wykes VC St Raphael a hard time. The bigger field in Group B however provided more opportunities for experienced riders to flourish and Steve Moss and Will Stevens, both Bournemouth Arrow delivered measured efforts at the right time in the Points Race and the Scratch Races. However this was not till after Leon Marshall Rutrainingtoday CC had slipped off the front in the B Points Race to become the first rider to gain a lap in Competition. Big winner in the Youth racing was Graham Hurst the handicapper who conspired to produce some close finishes from his young charges as they prepare for the Poole Wheelers promoted South Region round of the Youth Omnium this weekend.

Groups A and B came together for a tough Elimination Race with A Group riders filling the top 2 slots. B Riders out early failed to make the extra rest count in the final Revenge Scratch Race that immediately followed. In the charge to the line however Steve Moss and Ellie Gilham VC St Raphael got amongst the A riders in the top 4.