More than 40 young mountain bikers from across the Highlands converged on Golspie  last Saturday when East Sutherland Wheelers played host to round three of the Scottish Cycling North Dirt Crit Series at the Highland Wildcat mountain bike trails.

The cross country course included energy sapping sections over grass, and twisting single track and the dry weather meant the trails were dry and fast. The older riders (over 8s) faced a challenging climb on the lower slopes of Ben Bhraggie followed by downhill sections featuring two water crossings and rocky terrain.

Newly appointed Scottish Cycling Regional Development Officer James Bracher officiated at the event and East Sutherland Wheelers  club champion Alan Cockburn from Brora presented the medals.


Under 6 girls, 1 Caragh Muir (Wolfpax ), 2 Ava Luce (Egin CC), 3 Oliva Poole (Black IsleMTB)

Under 6 Boys 1 Cameron Johnston (Shredxs), Michah Miles , 3 Roane Campbelll (East Sutherland Wheelers), 

Under 8 Girls 1 Rochelle Ames, 2 Poppy Mackay (East Sutherland Wheelers)

Under 8 Boys 1 Creagh Muir (Wolfpax), 2 Brodie McMulkin 3 Magnus Main (Moray MTB)

Under 10 Girls 1 Amy Kenyon (Black Isle) 2 Masie McKulkin, 3 Mary Howell

Under 10 Boys 1 Andrew Georgeson (Black Isle), 2 Gavin Grokowski (Black Isle) 3 Leo MacIntosh (Wolf Pax)

Under 12 Girls 1 Rowan Masterton (Ben Wyvis CC)

Under 12 Boys 1 Charlie Ferguson, 2 Jake Tickle

Under 14 Boys 1 Kyle Cartmelll (Forres CC)

Under 16 Boys 1 Ti MacIntosh, (Wolfpax) 2 Ethan Tickle (Black Isle)