Road: Brooks wins in Après 2

Road: Brooks wins in Après 2

Home » Road racing

Location: Preston Park Cycle Track, Brighton, West Sussex
Event:7 December 2013

Riders and spectators were again treated with mild, dry conditions and little wind at the Preston Park velodrome.

In the main event of the day there were hopeful attacks firstly by Graham Collins (Ipswich Bicycle Club) and also Simon Brooks (VC St.Raphael), after which an inevitable bunch finish seemed likely.

Redhill CC had the numbers and the question was would Ryan Visser (Redhill CC) grab the sprint win?

George Fox (45RC) led the group into the final lap, holding on until the penultimate bend, only to be passed by Simon Brooks and Ryan Visser. Brooks took the inside line and the win, holding off Visser who ran out of track.

There was also an impressive win for Zak Corum-Haines (VC Jubilee) in the third category race, who despite riding with dispensation on youth gearing, managed to time his assault to perfection and hold off a rampaging bunch.

There were also wins for James Mapley (Southdowns Velo) in the fourths, giving him a third category license and Sean Warner, Isaac Wright, Abby Old and Daniel Allpress were victorious in the youth races.

Racing returns at the same time at Preston Park next week, with prizes and free Apres - The Hot Recovery Drink all round!


Elite seniors:
1Simon Brooks VC St Raphael
2 Ryan Visser Redhill CC
3 George Fox 45RC
4 Brian Hennessey Redhill CC
5 Graham Collins Ipswich Bike Club
6 Andrew Edwards Kingston Wheelers
Category three:
1 Zak Corum-Haines VC Jubilee
2 Kieran Barber Redhill CC
3 Dan Bennett PM
4 Martin Edmonds Brighton Mitre
5 John Paul Brophy Neon Velo
6 Chris Herbert Kingston Wheelers
7 Viktor Kazinec Dulwich Paragon
8 Leo Tong PM
9 Matthew Kerr Ipswich Bike Club
10 Alan Miles Redhill CC
11 Daniel Fagg Brighton Mitre
Category four:
1 James Mapley Southdown Velo
2 Tim Johnston Abellio SFA RT
3 Andy Parry Dulwich Paragon
4 Justin King Crawley Wheelers
5 Steve Allen Dulwich Paragon
6 Alex Beyfus Sussex Nomads
1Sean Warner Twickenham CC
2 Ashley Evans Dorking CC
1 Isaac Wright PPYCC
2 Max O'Connor Evolution
3 Jack Churchill VC Jubilee
1 Abby Old Hillingdon SS
1 Abby Old Hillingdon SS
1 Daniel Allpress Dorking Raiders

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.