Road: Achieve’s Rees wins in Dalton-on-Tees

Road: Achieve’s Rees wins in Dalton-on-Tees

Home » Road racing

Location: Croft Racing Circuit, Dalton-on-Tees, North Yorkshire
Event: 2 February 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Jack Rees of Achieve Cycle Coaching prevailed in a sprint finish to round two of the Velo20 Winter Series in Dalton-on-Tees on Saturday. This was the first race of the series after round one had to be cancelled due to snow.

Jack, 23, was part of the last set of riders to set off in the handicap race with the top riders catching the rest of the field inside three laps.

With 11 laps to go, Matthew Williams of Hope Factory made an attack and took five other riders with him, including Rees.

The bunch worked together and opened up a gap of 2:30 with all riders content to take the race to a sprint finish.

Rees, at the back of the six, made an early break with 300 metres to go and burst to the front. Herbal Life’s Harry Tanfield tried to reel Rees in but couldn’t quite catch him, finishing a tyre’s width behind.

Jack said after the race: “It was very close at the end, I only just took it from Harry. We worked well together and let it go to the sprint but I decided to go early with the tailwind and came up from the back.

“Achieve want to reinforce their status as the number one regional team this year but also want to compete nationally – that’s the aim.”


E/1/2/3/4 handicap (50km/15 laps):
1 Jack Rees (Achieve Cycle Coaching)
2 Harry Tanfield (Herbal Life)
3 Matthew Williams (Hope Factory Racing)
4 Simon West (Cycle Sense)
5 Connor Swift (Bike Box)
6 Josh Teesdale (Terra Footware)
7 Tom Timothy (Achieve Cycle Coaching)
8 Michael Slonas (Sunderland CC)
9 Steven Baker (Army Cycling Union)
10 Fabien Brennan (Velocity WD40)

4th Cat/Women:
1 Tom Van Rossum (Rock Racing Team UK)
2 Colin Kermode (unattached)
3 Darren Cooper (unattached)
4 Ben Forsyth (Edinburgh RC)
5 Kevin Dawson (Hambleton RC)
6 Lee Gates (Albarosa CC)
7 Peter Boyes (TS Racing Team)
8 Richard Buckle ( Harrogate Nova CC)
9 Tim Shields (Ilkley CC)
10 Richard Sharp (Clifton CC)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.