Road: Cousins fastest in ELV Series

Home » Road racing

Location: Redbridge Circuit, London
Event: 4 February 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Maldon CC’s Scott Cousins scored his first victory in the East London Velo Winter Series at the Redbridge Circuit in London on Saturday, winning round four in a two-up sprint for the line.

The 24-year-old from Bicknacre held off breakaway rival Roger Maidment (East London Velo) by four seconds after dropping him in the gallop for the chequered flag, but Maidment had already done enough to go top of the overall series standings in the E123 category, dubbed The Badger.

The pair were part of a break which had gone clear at around half distance, Cousins attacking first and another five riders chasing him down, including Maidment.

As the pace increased, only Maidment and Cousins could stay away while the rest of the hopefuls dropped away because of the pace, leaving the intrepid duo to power on to the finish.

Cousins attacked his rival at the bottom of the hill as they headed round the final circuit, and easily held off Maidment, who nevertheless secured enough points to give himself a seven-point lead at the top of the table.

Former leader Nick Baker (Zappi’s CC) who had won the previous two rounds really struggled on a freezing cold day which, although it remained dry for the race, soon saw heavy snow falling.

Earlier in the day, the supporting 3/4 race (The Jackal) was won by Sebastian Dickson (Thanet RC) after a largely uninspiring race which ended in a bunch sprint, Dickson holding off series leader Joe Holloway (VC 10).


The Badger (E/1/2/3):
1 Scott Cousins (Maldon CC)
2 Roger Maidment (East London Velo) @ 4sec
3 Matt Barlow (Essex Roads CC) @ 54sec
4 James Jones (Beeline Bicycles)
5 Felix Barker (Cambridge CC)
6 Richard Da Silva (Stevenage CC)
7 Henry Latimer (Dream Cycling) @ 56sec
8 Matt Webber (London Phoenix)
9 Nick Wilkinson (Dulwich Paragon)
10 Philip Murrell (Finsbury Park CC)
1 Roger Maidment (East London Velo) 27 pts
2 Nick Baker (Team Zappis CC) 20
3 Scott Cousins (Maldon CC) 17

The Jackal (3/4):
1 Sebastian Dickson (Thanet RC)
2 Joe Holloway (VC 10)
3 Antonius Wubben (unattached)
4 Tom McLaren (East London Velo)
5 Nick White (East London Velo)
6 Will Fooks (Rollapulazza)
7 Tom Bishop (unattached)
8 David Clarke (Eagle RC)
9 Ben Brown (Hackney CC)
10 Jack Finch (PM Racing)
1 Joe Holloway (VC 10) 22
2 Matt Barlow (Essex Roads CC) 19

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.