Report: Chippenham Wheelers Road Race

Home » Road racing

Bookmark    and Share  Follow on Follow       British Cycling on Facebook  Follow British       Cycling on Twitter Visit our       Youtube Channel Visit our       images on Flickr

Report: Chippenham Wheelers Road Race

Sunday 15th August | by Graham Robins (

Colin Parry wins in solo break

The Chippenham Wheelers Road Race was held on the rolling Malmesbury, Minety, Charlton course, near to the village of Wootton Bassett. Ahead of the riders were four laps of a twenty mile rolling course for the Elite/1/2 riders making a total distance of 128km/80 miles. The race rolled away from the headquarters under grey skies with a little dampness in the air, but before the end of the race, the sun had came out and temperatures had began to rise.

The first lap was quite sedate with a few riders attacking but nothing managing to stick. The second lap was where the first real action started with Steve Dring (Team Echelon-Spiuk) coming to the front to drive the race up Gallows hill, only then to find himself being passed on the flat by all the big hitters on their way to opening up a lead.

Ten riders made the gap with Mark Perry and Will Bjergfelt (Big Maggies/Willier/Prendas) on the front. The gap soon went up to 30 seconds with a split behind them. The chasing group, although working hard, were unable to pull back the leaders and seemed to settle in for the race. At the front, the group of ten were now well away and settled in to enjoy the course which many said they were very happy.

The ten including Mark and Will, also included Colin Parry (VC Montpellier, Will Fox and Mike Wragg (Team Zappi’s), Dale Appleby (Raleigh RT), Lee Davis (Motorpoint/Candi /TV/Marshalls Pasta), Richard Cartland and Chris McNamara (Team Corley) and John Cooper (Team Nemesis).

This group of ten stayed away on the last lap but no one rider managed to get away until Colin Parry attacked as the bunch got close to the finish. Despite having no team support in the break, and other teams having two riders in the break, Parry managed to ride away from his former breakaway companions for a solo victory. The remaining riders fought out the minor places in a sprint which was won by Will Fox.


1. Mark Parry VC Montpellier
2. Will Fox Team Zappi’s @40secs
3. Dale Appleby Raleigh RT
4. Richard Cartland Team Corley
5. Lee Davis Motorpoint/Candi /TV/Marshalls Pasta
6. Mark Parry Bigmaggies/Willier/Prendas
7. John Cooper Team Nemesis
8. Will Bjergfelt Bigmaggies/Willier/Prendas
9. Chris McNamara team Corley
10. Mike Wragg Team Zappi’s

11. James Stewart
12. Nic Tilling
13. Ross Adams
14. Matt Bailey
15. Grant Bayton
16. Anthony Moye
17. Kieran Frend
18. Steve Dring
19. Scott Law
20. Ryan Ballard
21. Jack Kirk
22. Sam Parker
23. Dextor Gardias
24. Matthew Higgins
25. Crispin Doyle
26. Harry Bulstrode
27. Courtney Rowe
28. Simon Smith
29. Rob Yeatman
30. Jason Streather
31. Wayne Coombs