Live stream confirmed for 2014 British Cycling National Circuit Race Championships as Hull gears up to welcome Britain’s top cyclists

Live stream confirmed for 2014 British Cycling National Circuit Race Championships as Hull gears up to welcome Britain’s top cyclists

Home » Road racing » British Circuit Championships

Britain’s best riders and teams have been confirmed for next week’s British Cycling National Circuit Race Championships, which will be streamed live online, British Cycling has announced.   

The championships, which take place in Hull on the evening of Wednesday 9 July, will be shown live on the British Cycling website from 5:45pm with highlights being broadcast on British Eurosport at 5pm on Monday 14 July.

With the prize of the iconic red, white and blue national champion’s jersey at stake, the championships will be fiercely contested by the country’s top professional riders, each looking to add their name to the list of famous names who have won the title, such as 2011 road world champion Mark Cavendish and Olympic medallists Ed Clancy, Lizzie Armitstead, Joanna Rowsell and Dani King.

In the men’s race, defending champion and Yorkshireman Russell Downing (NFTO) will defend the title he won in York last year.

To retain his jersey the 35-year-old will have to beat stiff competition from the Rapha Condor JLT duo of 2011 champion Graham Briggs and 2010 champion and Olympic gold medallist Ed Clancy, as well as George Atkins (Team Raleigh), winner of the 2013 British Cycling Elite Circuit Series, Madison Genesis’s Tobyn Horton and Tom Stewart and Jon Mould, winner of three rounds of the recent Pearl Izumi Tour Series.

A new champion will be crowned in the women’s race, with Hannah Barnes not able to defend her title.

Last year’s silver and bronze medallists, Eileen Roe (Starley Primal Pro Cycling) and Amy Hill (Fusion RT Gearclub Bike Science), will be among the riders looking to take over as national champion with other challengers for the title including Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International riders, Charline Joiner and Gabriella Shaw, Wiggle Honda’s Amy Roberts and the Matrix Fitness – Vulpine pair of Corrine Hall and Jessie Walker.

The full rider entry lists are available here.

The riders will contest a 1.1km city centre circuit which starts and finishes on Carr Lane. The women’s race gets underway at 6:15pm, followed by the men’s race at 8:15pm. Both races will be 50 minutes long, followed by five laps of the circuit.

Highlights of the British Cycling National Circuit Race Championships will be broadcast on British Eurosport on Monday 14 July at 5pm, following the channel’s live coverage of stage 10 of the Tour de France.

British Eurosport is available via BT TV, Sky, Virgin Media and UPC Ireland and is also available online, on mobile and other devices via Eurosport Player: