Report: Scottish XC Round 5

Home » Mountain Bike (MTB)

Bookmark    and Share  Follow on Follow  British Cycling on Facebook  Follow British  Cycling on Twitter Visit our  Youtube Channel Visit our  images on Flickr

Report: Scottish XC Round 5

Posted August 11 2010

Full results | Photos 

Over 200 riders took part in round 5 of the Dales Cycles SXC series at Kinnoull Hill in Perth on the 8th August. The course was a fabulous mixture of tough climbs, fast flowing rooty sections and steep descents.

The first winner of the day was Thomas Van Holten, winning the juvenile race by two minutes from Liam McLaughlin (Square Wheels) and series leader, Calum Magowan (Peebles CC) In the juvenile girls race, newly crowned British champion, Lucy Grant (Peebles CC/Alpine Bikes) continued her winning streak. Jenna Fenwick (Stewartry Wheelers/MPG Cycles) took second in front of Erika Allen (Stirling Bike Club - Wallace Warriors) The youth race was won by Alex Welburn *Max Gear RT) with Iain Paton (Square Wheels) 16 seconds down in second and his team mate Tom Evans in third. Yuka Gallagher (Totally Dynamic/KTM) won the youth women's race from Hannah Ferguson (Glentress Riders). British Champion, Katy Winton won the junior women's race from Irish visitor, Claire Oakley (Xmtb McConvey Cycles)

The super veteran's race was won by Keith Jones. In the grand veteran's race, Gregor Grant (Square Wheels) won by five minutes from Billy Matthews (Square Wheels) Ian Robson MTS Cyclesport) finished third. Fiona Paton (Square Wheels) went one better than her son, taking the win in the female grand veterans race. Anne Murray (Square Wheels) continued her unbeaten run in the female veteran's category, from Julie Nimmo (Walkers CC) and Brenda Callander.

Katie Collins (A Quick Release) was a convincing winner of the female masters race, finishing almost six minutes in front of Jenny Boyd (Deeside Thistle)Katie Carmichael (Hervelo) finished third. Jenny Jack (Hervelo) won the female sport race from Jessica Lee (Rockhard Racing MTB Club) and Kathryn Doris (Ticket2RideBC/USE) Elke Schmidt (Squadra Porcini) won the elite female category from Natalie Milne (Team Leslie Bikeshop - Right Move Windows)

Gary McCrae (Team Leslie Bikeshop -Right Move Windows) won the veterans category from Kenny Kentley (Eqipe Velo Ecosse Montpeliers) British 24 hour champion, Keith Forsythe (Inners MTB Racing/ i cycles) finished third. In the masters race, Colin May (Edinburgh RC) continued his winning streak. Despite a mechanical in the final lap, Paul Sharp (Squadra Porcini) took second place with Paul Carmicheal taking third.

The junior race was won by Matthew Adair (Banbridge Cycling Club) from Lewis Kirkwood (Glentress Riders) with Jack Taylor (Drumlanrig Rik's Bike Shed) in third. The sport race was won by Michael Boyd, riding for the promoting club - Perth City Cycles. Ian Lee (Derwentside CC) finished 2nd in front of downhiller, Stuart Nicholson (SDA)

The elite race saw Dave Henderson (Pedal Power RT) continue his good form, winning by five minutes from Paul Newnham (Team Leslie Bikshop - Right Move Windows). James Fraser-Moodie finished third.

There will be a race video available to view shortly.
The series moves back north for round six on August 29.