Cade and Bell take wins in final round of National 4X Series

Cade and Bell take wins in final round of National 4X Series

Home » Mountain Bike (MTB)

Round 7 of the National 4X Series in Witcombe marked the final round of the 2022 season on Sunday, with Sophie Cade and Tom Bell taking home elite wins.

It was no surprise to see riders of all categories embrace the features on this track – notably the double berm corners which could take you from fourth to first place.

National 4X series in Witcombe - riders at the starting line.

Sophie Cade stormed the pro line after being in second position to Josie McFall, and took the women’s elite victory, while Tom Bell won the pro elite category, beating Zac Hudson into second place. 

The true nature of pro line and B line definitely came into play on this course. After being on fine form all day, senior rider Lewis Ashe was thrown into the B final following a mishap on this section after being well ahead, while Ethan Clarke was the eventual winner of the senior race. In the female category, Jessica Taylor was crowned the winner.

The master’s category saw Jamie Tomkins come out on top in a tough field that was reminiscent of old school senior races, while Richard Rowland secured the veteran’s victory ahead of Matt Mayneord.

The 17+ category saw Jason Pinkey storm to the win, while the rippers 10-12 category crowned Coby Wrayford the winner.  

The youth categories put on a great display of racing, with Freddie Cadman Carpenter securing the youth 15-16 win, and Tyler Anderson winning the juvenile 13-14 category after taking the defence line, towing the following three riders behind him into the slower, tighter inside line.  

National 4X series in Witcombe - riders in mid jump over track.

On the day winners:

Big fun (17+): Jason Pinkey 
Fun (8-9): Layton Harding 
Rippers (10-12): Coby Wrayford 
Juvenile (13-14): Tyler Anderson 
Youth (15-16): Freddie Cadman Carpenter 
Senior: Ethan Clarke 
Master: Jamie Tomkins
Veteran: Richard Rowland 
Grand veterans: David Michael 
Elite Women: Sophie Cade
Master Women: Jessica Taylor 
Pro Elite: Tom Bell

Photo gallery

Series results