Cross: Holmes victorious again at Waltham Abbey

Cross: Holmes victorious again at Waltham Abbey

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Gunpowder Park, Waltham Abbey
Event: 22 September 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Matt Holmes (Artic Sram RT) stormed to his third victory in as many rounds of the London League in the senior race which took place at Gunpowder Park.

In a unique setting where they once made gun powder, a dry and fast course was laid out for competitors which took around seven minutes a lap to complete.

Holmes, aged 34 and from Gravesend, took no time in taking an early lead which he maintained for the whole racing leaving a ferocious battle for second place which was only decided on the last lap when Jules Birks (VC Londres) went clear.

Coming home to take third place on the day after battling it out all day for position was Stephen Adams, from Leytonstone.

In the veterans event Darren Barclay, from Brighton made his veteran debut and was victorious in a closely fought affair.

Coming home second was Kevin Knox, from Brockley and taking third place was Stuart Nisbett (Crawley Whls).

First women home was Delia Beddis (Vicious Velo) who streaked ahead of the rest of the women to take a fine category victory.

The junior event was a closely fought affair with Ciclos Uno rider Sean Dunlea (who had won the Eastern League’s senior race the previous day) taking the lead of Liam Earl (Sutton CC) on the final lap to take victory with Earl coming home second.

Winning the youth race was Anthony Anderson (Kingston Whls) with Luke Mitchie (Team Darenth) coming home to take first under-14.

In the girls categories Emily Ashwood (Sutton CC) won the under-16’s and Molly Drew (Lee Valley Youth CC) won the under-14 section.


1 Matt Holmes (Arctic SRAM RT)
2 Jules Birks (VC Londres)
3 Stephen Adams (Twenty 3C)
4 Dan Stevens (Neon Velo)

1 Darren Barclay (Arctic SRAM RT)
2 Kevin Knox (Vicious Velo)
3 Stuart Nisbett (Crawley Wheelers)

Women: Delia Beddis (Vicious Velo)

1 Sean Dunlea (Ciclos Uno)
2 Liam Earl (Sutton CC)
3 Oliver Priddle (Eastbourne Rovers CC)

Under-16 Anthony Anderson (Kingston Whls)
Under-14 Luke Mitchie (Team Darenth)
Under-16 girl Emily Ashwood (Sutton CC)
Under-14 girl Molly Drew (Lee Valley Youth CC)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.