Cross: Sumner wins again in Wessex

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Cowley School, Oxford
Event: 15 September 2013

Ben Sumner (Beeline Cycles) and Crispin Doyle (Hargroves Cycles) continued a winning start to the season and successful in their own races.

Today’s races held at the Oxford School near Cowley. The course was laid out over two large football pitches on different levels and a tricky wooded section surrounding the school. The rain stayed off for the most and the ground remained firm throughout.

Ben started the senior race from the front and led throughout once he shook of the challenge of Luke Gray (Trek Cross Selective). Michael Cotty (Wheelbase Cannondale), last season’s champion was making his first appearance of the new season and was soon on the pace in third place. Behind the leaders was the usual battle for the rest of the front places but this took a few laps to establish an order.

A couple of laps done and Ben started to ease away from Luke and a gap soon stretched out to twenty seconds. Behind Luke was a tussle between Michael and Crispin Doyle, again deciding to ride two races in one day. So with gaps and race order now sorted it was Ben from Luke with Crispin getting away from Michael, behind them was a scrap between team mates Matt Woods and Matt Hargroves of Hargroves Cycles.

At the mid point Ben led Luke by 35 seconds, who in turn was 20 seconds ahead of Crispin. Michael was at 1:09 with Matt Woods at 1:44 and Matt Hargroves at 2:15. At the bell the only change to the order saw Paul Lloyd (Rides on Air) get between the two Hargroves riders but before the chequered flag the order had been restored.

The combined vet, junior Women’s race was won for the second week running by and in form Crispin Doyle who also won the first of the mid-week floodlight race in Swindon. There was another huge entry of 92 riders in the event proving that the Wessex League must be doing it right.

Crispin went straight away from the gun and opened a gap over Mike Simpson (GS Henley) and Lewis King (Beeline Cycles) along with Sean Williams (Wightlink Offshore), Keith Sheridan (Cotswold Veldrijden) and Will Girvan (North Hants RC). This order stayed the same for two laps with Crispin now 50secs clear of Mike, Lewis was at 1:38 and then Keith, Sean and Will were all together at 2:00.

The only ‘incident ‘ in the race was Sean Williams losing contact with his bike on the fifth lap, allowing Keith and Will the chance to pull away. However he rode hard and was soon back together again.

At the bell Crispin led by 50 seconds from Mike, while Lewis was at 1:38, Keith at 2:00 and Sean and Will also at around 2:00. With the leading four finished there was a sprint for fifth between Will and Sean which was won on the line by the Isle of Wight Rider.

Claire Smith (Cotswold Veldrijden) was first women and Joseph Andrews (Fareham Wheelers) both won for the second week in succession.

Maddie Wadsworth (Beeline Cycles) won the Under 12s race overall with age wins for Rowan Turner (Poole Wheelers). The youth race was won by Chris Rothwell (SCRA) ahead of local rider Ed Gronbech (Oxford City RC) and Elliott Lassiter (Cotswold Veldrijden). Emily Wadsworth was first girl.

Provisional Results:

1st Ben Sumner Beeline Cycles
2nd Luke Gray Trek Cross Collective @1min 07secs
3rd Crispin Doyle Hargroves Cycles @1min 55secs
4th Michael Cotty Wheelbase Cannondale @2mins 15secs
5th Matt Woods Hargroves Cycles

1st Crispin Doyle Hargroves Cycles
2nd Mike Simpson GS Henley @50secs
3rd Lewis King Beeline Cycles @1min 38secs
4th Keith Sheridan Cotswold Veldrijden @2mins 0secs
5th Sean Williams Wightlink Offshore @ 2mins 10secs

1st Claire Smith Cotswold Veldrijden
2nd Sarah Barber North Hants RC
3rd Anna Cipullo Dame Cycling

1st Joseph Andrews Fareham Wheelers
2nd Mike Ponzo Swindon RC
3rd Jack Saunders Cotswold Veldrijden

1st Chris Rothwell SCRA
2nd Ed Gronbech Oxford City RC
3rd Elliott Lassiter Cotswold Veldrijden
4th Tom Sewell Cotswold Veldrijden
5th Thomas Timberlake Dyson Cycles

Under 12s
1st Maddie Wadsworth Beeline Cycles Under 12 Girl
2nd Anna Wadsworth Beeline Cycles
3rd Rowan Turner Poole Wheelers Under 12 Boy
4th Jed Smithson Oxonian Under 10 Boy
5th Emily Conn PPV
6th Madeline Cooper Chapel Tri stars Under 10 Girl

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.