Cross: Bjergfelt takes Western League opener

Cross: Bjergfelt takes Western League opener

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Gloucester Boating Lake, Gloucester
Event: 15 September 2013
Report: Paul Loosemore/Snowdon Sports

Will Bjergfelt took the opening round of the Western League after a late attack was enough for him to claim victory in Gloucester.

Bjergfelt, (pictured) 34 and based in Bristol, attacked early on and only John Whittington (Diabetes UK) was able to stay with him.

Behind, Scott Chalmers had a lonely ride for third place and found himself in between the leaders and the chasing group of seven riders.

After the halfway distance the leaders remained together with David Banaville broke away from the group of seven behind.

On the last lap, Bjergfelt was too fast for his companion and road to a 17 seconds victory with Whittington, also from Bristol taking second and Chalmers claiming third.

Veteran rider, Steve Brown (Dream Cycling) put on the performance of the day in the veterans, women and juniors race by lapping the entire field on his own.

Coming home second was Pat Alexander, from Cheltenham and in third spot was his team mate John Dalton.

Top junior Oliver Hayward (Worcester City) and top lady was Helen Bennett (Cadence).



1 Will Bjergfelt MG Maxi Fuel Pro Cycling in 1:00:31

2 John Whittington Diabetes UK @0'17

3 Scott Chalmers Dream Cycling @2'41

4 David Barnaville Bristol CX @4'24

5 Mike Blunsdon VC Montpellier @5'39

6 Will Poole Bristol CX @5'57

7 Jeremy Addis VC Montpellier @1 lap

8 Andrew Burridge SWARM @1 lap

9 Chris Read N/A @1 lap

10 Steven Green Bristol South @1 lap

11 Nick Prynce Jones Worcester St Johns @1 lap

12 Aaron Preace Team Striking Bikes @2 laps

13 Ben Hall Bristol CX @2 laps

14 James Byrne N/A @2 laps

15 William Connell N/A @2 laps

16 Jeremy Cooper Cheltenham & County @3 laps


1 Steve Brown Dream Cycling

2 Pat Alexander Cheltenham & County @1 lap

3 John Dalton Cheltenham & County 1 lap

4 Ian Threadgood Cheltenham & County 1 lap

5 Martyn Green Bristol CX 1 lap

6 Donald Gray Cardiff Jiff 1 lap

7 Donald Macgreggor Cheddar C C 1 lap

8 Anthony Evans Cwmcarn Paragon 1 lap

9 Paul Crossley VC Montpellier 1 lap

10 Ian Morris VC Bristol 1 lap

11 Anthony Lake Gloucester City 1 lap

12 Chris Turvey Giant Halo Films 2 laps

13 Jammie Britten Severn RC 2 laps

14 Gordon Smillie Cheltenham & County 2 laps

15 Paul Carpenter Hounslow Whls 2 laps

16 Collin Miller N/A 2 laps

17 Steve Stanbrook Malvern Cycling 2 laps

18 Steve Higgins Warrell Abergavenny 2 laps

19 Neville Luxton Swindon RC 2 laps

20 Tim Slumman Cheltenham & County 2 laps

21 Digby Ruscins RDFCC 2 laps

22 Paul Mayer Cheltenham & County 2 laps

23 Oliver Hayward Gloucester City 2 laps

24 Helen Bennett Cadance 2 laps

25 Dave Buckle Gloucester City 3 laps

26 Rob Collins N/A 3 laps

27 Phil King Cheltenham & County 3 laps

28 Paula Loughlin Cheltenham & County 4 laps

29 Steve Williams Cheltenham & County 4 laps


1 Huw Higgins Worrell Abergavenny

2 George Britton Severn RC

3 Hareigh Jackson N/A

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.