Cross: Naylor hammers to victory in SRAM Notts/Derby League

Cross: Naylor hammers to victory in SRAM Notts/Derby League

Home » Cyclo-cross

Fossa Racing rider Andrew Naylor secured his first win of the year in the SRAM Notts and Derby League on Saturday, racing to victory at Sinfin Park in Derby.

The 32-year-old from Hucknall took the win by 46 seconds from Clay Cross RT rival Gareth Whittall, while another Fossa rider, Lee Shunburne, took third spot and was 1:15 behind.

After three podium finishes so far this year in the SRAM Notts and Derby League, it was a sweet victory for Naylor – who also secured his only win of the season at the same venue in 2011.

In a large field of 131 riders for the senior race, Nick Burns (Zepnat RT) was the fastest under-23 rider in ninth spot, 1:07 and two places ahead of his nearest rival in that age group, Oliver Watson.

Dave Ash (Nottingham Clarion) was first veteran in 13th place, while Oliver Maxwell (VC Rutland) was fastest junior rider in 19th place.

In the women’s race there was yet another comfortable win for Zepnat RT’s Diane Lee, while Matlock CC duo Sarah Kennedy and Maz Heffron took second and third respectively.

In the youth race Hope Factory Racing youngster Arthur Green took the victory – his second of the season in the league, and his fourth appearance on the podium.

He was 45 seconds ahead of Cycleshack rider Jake Poole, while Ollie Peckover (Nottingham Clarion) took third.

Sarah Lomas (Matlock CC) was fastest girl back in 17th spot, while in the Under-12s race there was a female winner, with Nottingham Clarion’s Poppy Wildman riding superbly to take the win by just one second ahead of Derby Mercury’s Josh Scales.

And in the Under-9s race, Sam Gould (Matlock CC) won by eight seconds from Beeston’s Fred Shenton, while Louis Swindell ensured Matlock had two riders on the podium with third place.


1 Andrew Naylor (Fossa Racing) 57:23
2 Gareth Whittall (Clay Cross RT) @ 46sec
3 Lee Shunburne (Fossa Racing) @ 1:15
4 Paul Cox (Team Pedal Power) @ 1:31
5 Ben Eedy (Empella) @ 1:37
6 James Furniss (Zepnat RT) @ 1:48
7 Nathan Miller (Buzz Cycles) @ 2:05
8 James Dalton (Pedalsport) @ 2:11
9 Nick Burns (Zepnat RT) @ 2:18
10 Rob Parkin (Buzz Cycles) @ 2:32
Under-23s: Nick Burns. Veterans: Dave Ash (Nottingham Clarion). Juniors: Oliver Maxwell (VC Rutland).

1 Diane Lee (Zepnat RT) 57:23
2 Sarah Kennedy (Matlock CC)
3 Maz Heffron (Matlock CC)

1 Arthur Green (Hope Factory Racing) 25:35
2 Jake Poole (Cycleshack) @ 45sec
3 Ollie Peckover (Nottingham Clarion) @ 59sec
4 Chris Barnes (Zepnat RT) @ 1:05
5 Kieran Howarth (Nottingham Clarion) @ 1:24
6 Harry Yates (Lichfield CC) @ 1:35
Girls: Sarah Lomas (Matlock CC).

1 Poppy Wildman (Nottingham Clarion) 17:59
2 Josh Scales (Derby Mercury RC) @ 1sec
3 Emile Alexander (Lichfield City CC) @ 15sec
Girls: Poppy Wildman.

1 Sam Gould (Matlock CC) 7:49
2 Fred Shenton (Beeston RC) @ 8sec
3 Louis Swindell (Matlock CC) @ 1:01
Girls: Harriet Limb (Matlock CC).

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.