Cyclo-Cross: Fawcett wins CXNE Series round one

Home » Cyclo-cross

Tony Fawcett (Scott Bikes) secured victory in the opening round of the CXNE Rat Race Series, staged in the historic grounds of Curwen Hall Workington in beautiful conditions.

Fawcett led from the start with Steven Ward (MTS Cycle Sport) not far behind. Kenny Haswell (Cestria Cycles) and Morgan Donnelly (Beacon Wheelers) battled for third place, with Donnelly eventually coming third.

Fawcett continued to ride away from Ward, creating a winning margin of more than a minute.

In the junior race Luke Parkin (Hetton Hawks) and James Edmond (Ferryhill Wheelers) got a flying start and were never likely to be caught by the veterans. In the end Luke Parkin won by 28 seconds.

Greg Tognarelli (VC Cumbria) and Richard Noble (TWFRS) shared the lead for the first six laps of the veterans race, before Tognarelli pulled away in the last couple of laps to win by 37 seconds. Cyclewise rider Ben Bardsley came third.

Maddie Robinson (Velo Club Moulin) was fastest woman with Beacon Wheelers Nicola Davies second and Lucy Donnely third.


1 Tony Fawcett Scott Bikes UK
2 Steven Ward MTS Cycle Sport
3 Morgan Donnelly Beacon Wheelers
4 Kenny Haswell Cestria Cycles
5 Paul McNally Rock and Road Cycles
6 John Dodgin Biketreks RT
7 Ben Greenwood Vanilla Bikes
8 Malcolm Lewis MTS Cycle Sport
9 Jonny Fletcher M Steel Cycles
10 Kieran Banlin Vanilla Bikes

1 Greg Tognarelli VC Cumbria
2 Richard Noble TWFRS
3 Ben Beardsley Cyclewise
4 John Mein Derwentside
5 Steven Wilson MTS Cycle Sport
6 Sean Hoban VC Cumbria
7 Alan King MTS Cycle Sport
8 Stephen Brazier MTS Cycle Sport
9 Graeme Hodgson Honister 92
10 Mark Mather Adept Precision

1 Maddie Robinson Velo Club Moulin
2 Nicola Davies Beacon Wheelers
3 Lucy Donnelly Beacon Wheelers

1 Matthew Worton Hetton Hawks
2 Miles Worner Teesdale CRC
3 Thomas Mein MTS Cycle Sport
4 Jake Dobson Newcastle Phoenix
5 Oliver May Beacon Wheelers
6 Tyler Loftus Beacon Wheelers
7 Sam Monkhouse Salt Ayre Cog Set
8 Henrietta Colburn Beacon Wheelers
9 Sam Ross Beacon Wheelers
10 Connie Harton Beacon Wheelers

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.