Queen Anne High School crowned Scottish Schools Cycle Speedway League champions

Queen Anne High School crowned Scottish Schools Cycle Speedway League champions


Location: Jack Cane Sports Centre, Edinburgh
Event: 23 March 2012

The final round of matches in the Scottish Schools Cycle Speedway League saw Dunfermline's Queen Anne High School crowned indoor champions after two hard-fought, but ultimately convincing victories over Inverkeithing High and Liberton High.

The first match saw Queen Anne race into a 36-24 lead after just six heats of their clash against local rivals Inverkeithing. However, two superb wins for Inverkeithing's Ilya Spakovs and some good team riding by his team-mates Nathan Barrie and Ben Slaney saw the next five heats shared.

Spakovs' victory over Queen Anne's otherwise unbeaten Stuart Turvey in heat 10 was the race of the day with both riders locked in a wheel to wheel battle for three laps before Spakovs' brave inside line eventually prevailed. This merely acted as an incentive for Queen Anne to raise their game and the final five heats saw them rack up three 6-4's and two 7-3's as they eventually ran out winners by 93 points to 67.

Aaron Brown was in great form for Queen Anne notching a paid maximum, while Joel Kelman was also unbeaten by an opposition rider. Inverkeithing were brilliantly led by Barrie and Spakovs, however they lacked the strength in depth to really trouble Queen Anne.


Queen Anne 93: Aaron Brown 16, Joel Kelman 15, Stuart Turvey 15, Mitch Stevens 14, Darren Lister 11, Darren Sayer 9, Ryan Hunter 7, Aiden Rae 6.

Inverkeithing 67: Nathan Barrie 19, Ilya Spakovs 18, Jordan Crossland 11, Ben Slaney 8, Dean Dawson 6, John Binnie 5.

The second match between Queen Anne and Liberton was effectively a title decider and the large crowd were eagerly anticipating a close encounter. However, buoyed by their win over Inverkeithing, Queen Anne came out all guns blazing and romped into a 52-28 lead at the interval.

A magnificent win by Liberton's Ben Wright in heat 10 over the otherwise unbeaten Stuart Turvey and two victories for the fast starting Connor Garvey hinted that a fightback might be on the cards but 7-3's for first Joel Kelman and Jake Ferguson and then Stuart Turvey and Aaron Brown sealed the title for Queen Anne who eventually won by 94 points to 66. Once again, Kelman was unbeaten by an opposition rider and he received good support from Harry Langdale. Garvey and Wright were best for a gallant Liberton side who exhibited great sportsmanship throughout.


Queen Anne 94: Joel Kelman 15, Harry Langdale 13, Stuart Turvey 13, Jake Ferguson 12, Cameron Edmonston 12, Aaron Brown 11, Tyler White 10, Angus Disley 8.

Liberton 66: Connor Garvey 14, Ben Wright 12, Ted Kanjewe 11, Lewis Balsillie 9, John Paul Mason 8, Jack Law 6, Rowan Moran 6.

Both the winners and runners-up were presented with their medals and certificates by Great Britain International Track Cyclist, Callum Skinner. Immediately following the presentation, Scotland team manager Gavin Kennedy named the following Scottish Schools Select side for the forthcoming friendly against an Edinburgh Falcons Junior side at Redbraes Park:

Team: Nathan Barrie (Inverkeithing), Connor Garvey (Liberton), Joel Kelman (Queen Anne), Ilya Spakovs (Inverkeithing), Stuart Turvey (Queen Anne), Ben Wright (Liberton).