Great Britain Cycling Team Confirmed for the UCI Road World Championships

Great Britain Cycling Team Confirmed for the UCI Road World Championships


British Cycling has completed the final confirmation of riders who will represent the Great Britain Cycling Team at the UCI Road World Championships in Yorkshire, which take place on 22nd – 29th September.

The Team Time Trial Mixed Relay will make its debut in Yorkshire on 22nd September, with John Archibald, Dan Bigham and Harry Tanfield taking to the start ramp to do a lap of the 14km long Harrogate circuit, before Lauren Dolan, Anna Henderson and Joss Lowden take on the course in an effort to lay down the fastest time.

Junior time trialers Elynor Backstedt, Amelia Sharpe, Leo Hayter and Oscar Nilsson-Julien will be in action on the 23rd September in the Junior Women’s and Junior Men’s Time Trial respectively. Leo will also line up for the Junior Men’s Road Race on the 26th September, alongside Lewis Askey, Alfie George, Max Walker and Sam Watson, while Elynor and Amelia race again on 27th September with team mates Eluned King, Anna Shackley and Abi Smith.

National time trial champion Charlie Quarterman and Senior Academy rider Ethan Vernon will represent Great Britain in the under-23 men’s time trial on 24th September. Yorkshire’s very own Tom Pidcock has recovered from injury in time to be selected for the road race on 27th September, and he will be joined by Matt Walls who finished in second place on stage five of the Tour of Britain, beating off some of the world’s best sprinters in the process. Stuart Balfour, Jake Stewart and Fred Wright complete the Under-23 Men’s Road Race line-up.

In the elite women’s events, national time trial champion Alice Barnes and Hayley Simmonds are Great Britain’s representatives in the time trial race on 24th September, while Alice, who also holds the national road race champion crown, races again in the women’s road race on 28th September. Lizzie Deignan, the 2015 world champion, will also line-up, as will Hannah Barnes, Lizzy Banks, Nikki Junniper and Anna Henderson.

Finally, in the elite men’s events, the 2018 Tour de France champion Geraint Thomas will represent Great Britain in both the time trial and road race events. National time trial champion Alex Dowsett will join Geraint on 25th September, while Ben Swift, Owain Doull, Tao Geoghegan Hart, Ian Stannard and Adam Yates will line-up with Geraint for the road race on the closing day of the competition.

A whole host of Great Britain Cycling Team’s para-cycling stars will be in action on Saturday 21st September in the Yorkshire 2019 Para-cycling International.

The Great Britain Cycling Team for the UCI Road World Championships 2019:

Team Time Trial Mixed Relay (22nd September)

John Archibald (28, Milngavie)

Dan Bigham (27, Newcastle-Under-Lyme)

Harry Tanfield (24, Great Ayton)

Lauren Dolan (19, Exeter)

Anna Henderson (20, Buckinghamshire)

Joss Lowden (31, London)

Junior Women’s Time Trial (23rd September)

Elynor Backstedt (17, Mid Glamorgan)

Amelia Sharpe (18, Isle of Man)

Junior Men’s Time Trial (23rd September)

Leo Hayter (18, London)

Oscar Nilsson - Julien (17, London)

Under-23 Men’s Time Trial (24th September)

Charlie Quarterman (21, Oxford)

Ethan Vernon (19, Bedfordshire)

Elite Women’s Time Trial (24th September)

Alice Barnes (24, Northamptonshire)

Hayley Simmonds (30, Cambridgeshire)

Elite Men’s Time Trial (25th September)

Alex Dowsett (30, Essex)

Geraint Thomas (33, Cardiff)

Junior Men’s Road Race (26th September)

Lewis Askey (18, Staffordshire)

Alfie George (18, Perth)

Leo Hayter (18, London)

Max Walker (18, Isle of Man)

Sam Watson (17, Yorkshire)

Junior Women’s Road Race (27th September)

Elynor Backstedt (17, Mid Glamorgan)

Eluned King (17, Swansea)

Anna Shackley (18, Glasgow)

Amelia Sharpe (18, Isle of Man)

Abi Smith (17, Yorkshire)

Under-23 Men’s Road Race (27th September)

Stuart Balfour (22, Scottish Borders)

Tom Pidcock (20, Yorkshire)

Jake Stewart (19, Coventry)

Matt Walls (21, Lancashire)

Fred Wright (20, London)

Elite Women’s Road Race (28th September)

Lizzy Banks (28, Worcestershire)

Alice Barnes (24, Northamptonshire)

Hannah Barnes (26, Northamptonshire)

Lizzie Deignan (30, Yorkshire)

Nikki Juniper (38, Essex)

Anna Henderson (20, Buckinghamshire)

Elite Men’s Road Race (29th September)

Owain Doull (26, Cardiff)

Tao Geoghegan Hart (24, London)

Ian Stannard (32, Chelmsford)

Ben Swift (31, Yorkshire)

Geraint Thomas (33, Cardiff)

Adam Yates (27, Bury)