‘Cross: Franklin Wins in Eastern League


Location: Redbridge circuit, Hainault, Essex
Event: 17 September 2011
Report: Snowdon Sports

For the second week running a junior rider took victory in the senior race at the Eastern League, with Hargroves Cycles' Harry Franklin winning the second round at the Redbridge circuit in Hainault, Essex.

The 16-year-old from Bromley in Kent won by just three seconds from 37-year-old London Phoenix rival Matthew Webber, while the final podium spot went to Andrew Nichols (PCA Ciclos Uno), who was more than a minute further off the pace.

The course was largely dry and bumpy and used the side of a hill at the circuit. But the main challenge came from a section of the course which crossed the road circuit, which caused several pinch-punctures. But with the pits being just a few yards further on, most riders were able to continue after a short delay.

Franklin and Webber were together for most of the race, and it became apparent that the winner would come from one of those two as they ploughed through the 10 laps.

In the supporting race for veterans and women, Shaftesbury CC's Bruce Robinson moved up from second spot in last week's opening round to take the win in Saturday's race by 33 seconds.

Second spot went to last season's league winner Tim Butler (Ipswich BC) who was happy enough with his performance after failing to finish with mechanical problems last week.

Last week's winner, Iceni Velo's Phil Buick, had to settle for third place this time round, just over a minute behind Robinson.

Chelmsford 15-year-old Sean Dunlea bagged his second consecutive victory of the Eastern League season at Redbridge, underlining his bid to step up from silver last year to youth category winner in 2011-12.

He was almost a minute ahead of his nearest rival over their six-lap version of the course, with Hargroves Cycles' Joe Franklin taking second and Joe Fry (Welwyn Wheelers) third.

The Eastern League continues next Sunday (September 25) with round three at Springfield Hall Park in Chelmsford.


1 Harry Franklin (Hargroves Cycles) 53:55
2 Matthew Webber (London Phoenix) @ 3sec
3 Andrew Nichols (PCA Ciclos uno) @ 1:19
4 Kevin Knox (Vicious Velo) @ 1:30
5 Hayden Wood (unattached) @ 3:26
6 Steven Halsall (unattached) @ 4:09
7 Matt Thurston (Iceni Velo) @ 4:16
8 Dan Stevens (Neon-Digital.co.uk) @ 4:41
9 Martin Carter (unattached) @ 4:44
10 Ben Spurrier (Vicious Velo) @ 4:45

1 Bruce Robinson (Shaftesbury CC) 37:11
2 Tim Butler (Ipswich BC) @ 33sec
3 Phil Buick (Iceni Velo) @ 1:02
4 Tony Wilkins (Mareterra Bike Team) @ 1:11
5 Mike Bowen (West Suffolk Wheelers) @ 1:22
6 Geoff Bores (Ford CC) @ 1:26
7 Bob Flack (Ford CC) @ 1:34
8 Chris Ridley (Maldon & Dist CC) @ 2:42
9 Graham Hart (Essex Roads CC) @ 3:58
10 Clive Quantrill (Ipswich BC) @ 4:07
Women: Claire Beaumont (Vicious Velo).

1 Sean Dunlea (PCA Ciclos Uno) 34:20
2 Joe Franklin (Hargroves Cycles) @ 59sec
3 Joe Fry (Welwyn Wheelers) @ 2:17
4 Dan Tullett (Hargroves Cycles) @ 3:24
5 Cameron Woolsey (CC Ashwell) @ 3:40
6 Theo Doncaster (CC Ashwell) @ 3:47
Under-14s: Dan Tullett.
Girls: Bethany Hayward (Welwyn Wheelers).
Under-14 Girls: Ellie Bushell (Thirteen3).
Under-12s: Ben Tullett (Herne Hill CC).
Under-10s: Aaron Freeman (Chelmer CC).

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.