John Andrews Memorial Road Race

Home » Road racing

John Andrews Memorial Road Race

Sunday, June 14, 2009; Yeovil CC 
65miles 2nd,3rd and 4th category.
Report and Photos: Charles Whitton
; ()

Into the finishing straight and the bunch are on the leaders but Jon Wynne hangs on to his lead to win. On the right Hugh Wilson is winding up his sprint to take 2nd place. Greame Lackford takes 3rd

Nearly a full field of riders lined up for the John Andrews Memorial Road Race over 65 miles based on a ‘sawtooth’ course at Langport. With 12 laps to be covered, the climbs, although not long, certainly tested the fitness of the riders and made for a good contest between the riders.

From the off, the attacks started with Simon Cole (Northover Vets) opening up a 15 second gap on the main field. However his freedom was short lived and once he was caught, it wasn’t long before another attack was made. On the climb of Pict Hill on lap 3, Graeme Lackford (Pendragon Kalas) launched a serious attack and soon opened a lead of some 25 seconds.

The following lap up Pict Hill, with Lackford’s lead stretching to 40 plus seconds, Jon Wynn (Northover Vets) sensed the danger and took off in pursuit of him. Wynn soon closed the gap and the pair began to work together because his move had stirred up the main field resulting in his and Lackford’s lead dropping by some 20 seconds.

And so it stayed until the midway mark, when Phil Hersey (Eagle RC) and Wynn’s team mate – Simon Cole tried to get up to the leaders. Quickly there were other riders trying to get off the front, including Peter Johnston (Team Tor 2000) who did a lap on his own before he was joined by Gary Chambers ( Johnson paid for his lone effort and he dropped back just as the 2 chasers were joined by Gary Chambers, Hugh Wilson (Forza Cycles), & Mike Bisson (DHCyclesport).

With 5 chasing, it looked like they would be able to bridge the gap to the leaders, but the leaders sensed the danger from the strongmen in the chasing group and they built their to 1 minute on the bunch and 40 seconds on the chasers. For the next 2 laps, the pattern of the race stayed the same until 2 laps to go when the main field reeled back the chasing group and with the higher pace, the leaders advantange began to look perilous.

At the start of the last lap their lead was down to some 20 seconds and it was definitely touch and go if they would survive the last lap as well as the 2 plus miles to the uphill finish. As the lead car turned into the finishing straight, the pack were on the leaders and it looked like their hard efforts would be wasted. But Jon Wynn dug deep and managed to hold off not only the bunch but also 2nd placed Hugh Wilson to win. At 3 seconds adrift, Graeme Lackford managed to get 3rd place, a small consolation for an aggressive days riding.

Provisional result
1st Jon Wynne (Nortover Vets)
2nd Hugh Wilson (Forza Cycles)
3rd Graeme Lackford (Pendragon Kalas)
4th Simon Burgess (Severn RC)
5th Glyndwr Griffiths (Bristol South CC)
6th Robert Gough (Chippenham & Dist Wheelers)
7th John Williams (Cwncarn Paragon RC)
8th Chris Roxburgh (Total Fitness Bath)
9th Hywel Silvester (Unattached)
10th Barry Clewett (Bournmouth Arrow CC)
11th James Lewis (Port Talbot Wheelers)
12th Gary Chambers (
13th Stephen Chiewliski (Weston Wheelers)
14th Ben Pyne (Exeter Wheelers)
15th William Hornby (CS South Hams)

Photo Report

Left: Northover Vets started the race how thay intended to finish with Simon Coles opening a 15 second gap on the main field in the first few miles. Right: The bunch were keen to bring him back and here Chris Roxburgh (Total Fitness Bath) strings the field out, followed by Simon Snowden and Robert Gough of Chippenham & Dist Wheelers.

Next time up Pict Hill and Graeme Lackford (Pendragon Kalas) attacks and opens up a lead of some 25 seconds

Sensing the danger – Jon Wynn (Nothover Vets) - on the left – attacks

Two miles later and he has nearly bridged the gap to Lackford – Lackford is 3 secs ahead of Wynne and 20 secs ahead of the bunch. Right: Here lead by Peter Bolke (DHCylesport)

Fifth time up Pict Hill the 2 leaders have 18 seconds on the bunch.

Through Pict Hill again Wynn & Lackford are working well together and holding the main field at bay by 15 to 20 seconds

Richard Raymond (Cwncarn Paragon RC) leads the field up Pict Hill

Five chasers- Gary Chambers, Hugh Wilson, Mike Besson (DHCyclesport),  Simon Cole and out of shot, Phil Hersey.

Group lead here by Hugh Wilson

Fifty seconds up on the main field is headed up here by Simon Burgess (Severn RC)

Michael Leach (Team Tor 2000) forces the pace through the ‘feeding zone’

The chasers are swallowed up by the main field – headed here by Peter Bolke