Welsh cyclists to compete at U23 and Juniors European Track Championships with Great Britain

Welsh cyclists to compete at U23 and Juniors European Track Championships with Great Britain

Home » Track cycling

Four Welsh cyclists will compete at the U23 and Junior European Track Championships in Athens, Greece. Former junior world champion Emily Nelson will be joined by current junior European team pursuit champion Megan Barker, junior European medallist Joe Holt and sprint cyclists Tom Scammell.

British Cycling has today confirmed the team of 30 riders who will represent Great Britain at the forthcoming UEC Under-23 and Junior European Track Championships taking place in Athens, Greece from 14 – 19 July.

The Great Britain Cycling Team won two gold, four silver and four bronze medals at last year’s event, with current junior European team pursuit champions Megan Barker and Grace Garner making selection for this year’s competition. Current elite European champion Katie Archibald has been selected as have former junior world champions Danni Khan, Emily Kay and Emily Nelson.

Technical director Shane Sutton OBE said: “This is the largest team we’ve fielded at an Under-23 and Junior European Championships for a long time, and that’s indicative of the hard work we’ve been doing on the performance pathway to ensure that talented young riders are identified and developed.

“The chance to compete at these championships is an opportunity to be cherished. The young athletes selected could represent the future of the Great Britain Cycling Team so I’m looking forward to seeing what results we can get and where they stand in relation to the rest of Europe at this stage of their careers.

“We’ve also selected some non-programme riders for this event which demonstrates our commitment to constantly be on the lookout for new talent as we look beyond Rio and onto Tokyo 2020.”

Great Britain Cycling Team

U23 Men’s Sprint
Jonathan Mitchell
John Paul
Tom Scammell

U23 Women’s Sprint
Danni Khan

Katy Marchant

Vicky Williamson

U23 Men’s Endurance

Germain Burton
Matt Gibson

Jake Kelly

Chris Latham

Mark Stewart

Ollie Wood

U23 Women’s Endurance
Katie Archibald

Emily Kay

Emily Nelson

Junior Men’s Sprint
Jack Carlin
Alex Joliffe
Frank Longstaff
Joe Trueman

Junior Women’s Sprint
Sophie Capewell

Junior Men’s Endurance
Matthew Bostock
Ethan Hayter
Joe Holt
Joey Walker
Reece Wood

Junior Women’s Endurance
Megan Barker
Abigail Dentus
Eleanor Dickinson
Grace Garner
Rebecca Raybould