Road: Beckett wins Forza season opener

Road: Beckett wins Forza season opener

Home » Road racing

Location: Llandow Motor Racing Circuit, Vale of Glamorgan, Wales
Event: 24 February 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Matt Beckett of Cardiff JIF took victory in the elite race at the Forza Cycles RT Season Opener in Wales on Sunday.

Youth riders line up for racing with Towy Riders out in force. Photo: Huw Fairclough

The 39-year-old Bridgend rider raced clear of County Cycles RT duo Owen James and John Holt to land the win.

The day consisted of several hugely popular races for children, while the adults racing saw four races take part, with each rider allowed to compete in two.

In the elite race, Rapha Condor rider Ed Laverack attacked on the first lap, and although he was reeled in soon enough it led to several counter attacks which established a group of around seven riders who ploughed round the track.

With snow showers having begun shortly after the youth races finished, the break was not chased down by many riders, and largely went unaltered as they headed for the finish.

Beckett also took victory in the 2/3 category race, beating Gerry Bowditch (NFTO) and Cardiff JIF team-mate Andy Hoskins.

Stephen Williams (Ystwyth CC) won the third cat race, while Tony Antippas (Cardiff JIF) proved victorious in the fourth cat race.



1 Matt Beckett Cardiff JIF

2 Owen James County Cycles RT

3 John Holt County Cycles RT

4 Ed Laverack Rapha Condor JLT

5 Gerry Bowditch NFTO Race

6 Ben Simmons Wiggle

7 Joe Wiltshire Cwmcarn

8 David Bees Forza RT

9 Robbie Westwood Cwmcarn

10 Russ White Forza RT

Cat 2/3:

1 Matt Beckett Cardiff JIF

2 Gerry Bowditch NFTO Race

3 Andy Hoskins Cardiff JIF

4 Graeme Boswell Cardiff Ajax

5 George Rose CCW RT

6 Dan Davies Team Wallis

7 Vince Thomas Forza RT

8 Dave Medhurst Cardiff Ajax

9 Rupert Denny Dream Cycling

10 Justin Harcourt Urban Cyclery

Cat 3:

1 Stephen Williams Ystwyth

2 Gareth Holtham Cardiff JIF

3 Nocholas Jones Towy

4 James Woodier Abergavenny RC

5 Mike Tarling WWCR

6 Mick Ballantyne NFTO Race

7 Huw Beynon Bynea CC

8 Geoff Ridley Bristol CC

9 Graham Lee

10 Chris Fairclough Cwmcarn

Cat 4:

1 Tony Antippas Cardiff JIF

2 Gethin Llewelyn

3 Ben Carroll

4 Tom Sturdy Abergavenny RC

5 Joe Lockett

6 Chris Godwin Ogmore

7 Max Girdler Malmesbury

8 Paul Thomas Bynea CC

9 Neil Richards Cwmcarn

10 Will Arnold Dorking CC

11 Martyn Teece-Pound Ystwyth

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.