Betty Pharoah Memorial RR

Home » Road racing

Bookmark      and Share  Follow onFollow British Cycling on Facebook Follow British Cycling on Twitter Visit our Youtube Channel Visit our images on Flickr

12th Betty Pharoah Memorial Legstretchers RR 

Event 28 March, 2010; Posted March 29; by Ian Homer

The expected bad weather never showed up for this long running event but there was a near full field on the start line for a memorable 12th Betty Pharoah Memorial Legstretchers event run by Cardiff Ajax, in the Vale of Glamorgan.

Please take time out to back our "Keep Racing on the Roads" campaign to save Road racing by becoming a fan of our dedicated facebook page

In the four lap E,1,2,3 cat National B race, a split developed early on, of which a further three riders attacked off the front leaving a 30 second gap to the chasing pack by the second lap. Then, most of the chasing riders made it across to the lead three leaving things well poised for the final laps.

Anthony Malarczyk 2010 winner of the 2010 Betty Pharoah Memorial Legstretchers  (National B) Road Race receives the cup from Reg Pharoah, President of Cardiff Ajax CC. Photo: Ian Homer

The gap to the peloton varied between 1:30 and two minutes on the undulating course which was taking its toll on the 69 strong field. Thankfully, there was only a slight hint of the normally brutal winds that batter these coastal roads with regularity.

With about 3km to go, ex-pro now returning 3rd cat rider, Anthony Malarczyk (34) made a break for home, an attack the rest of the riders never covered. The Team AC/DC rider powered away up the B- road from the turn off the A48 at the bottom of Crack Hill past the HQ and then up the tricky last climb to clinch the cup. Joshua Edmondson, came in second and was 1st Junior (Motorpoint/Marshalls Pasta, followed by Mike Cumins (Team Raleigh).

On being presented with the cup winner Anthony Malarczyk, who has come back to racing after a number of years out, said "Thanks go to my very special girlfriend who bought me a new bike for Christmas."

Anthony Malarczyk (team AC/DC), winner of the National B race sprints to take prime points.

Photo: Ian Homer

1. Anthony Malarczyk
2. Joshua Edmonson
3. Mike Cuming
4. Paul Thursfield
5. Colin Parry
6. Gary Chambers
7. Wayne Coombs
8. Blake Pond
9. James Lowsley-Williams
10. Glyndwr Griffiths
11. Karl Hine
12. Thomas Ashford
13. Tim Rose
14. Philip Borrett
15. John FitzPatrick
16. Rowan Marshall
17. David Eaves
18. William Hornby
19. Russell Falder
20. Jess Wieckowski

Regional C+ 3,4 category

A packed peloton in the 3,4 cat race climbs up toward the turn for Wick for the first time. Photo: Ian Homer

In the Regional C+ 3,4 category race, a breakaway of six riders formed around Nicole Cooke's home village of Wick who then kept a gap of half to one minute from the bunch. Cardiff Ajax's Mike Webb jumped across but by the end of the second lap, Cardiff Jif organised the main peloton to close in on the breakaway and it all stayed together with minor attacks until near the end of the final lap.

Andy Hopkins then made a concerted effort only to get caught and passed by those chasing on the tough 10% climb up to the finish. Many places were exchanged there leaving the honours to be taken by Stephen Bennett of ACME Wheelers/Rhondda CC with second and third taken by Toby Eichler (BC Private) and Andrew Baum (BC Private) respectively. First lady was Anna Fischer who showed many of the lads up by taking 4th. First junior was Freddie Lewton of Giant CC (11th overall).

The chasing peloton in the E,1,2,3 race coming back into Corntown from the turn off  the A48 at the bottom of Crack Hill in the penultimate lap.  It was here that the eventual winner made his decisive attack.  Photo: Ian Homer


1 Stephen Bennett
2 Toby Eichler
3 Andrew Baum
4 Anna Fischer
5 Stephen Green
6 Tony Kiss
7 Mike Webb
8 Andrew Hunt
9 Mike Kiss
10 Jonathan Ellis