Strong line-up for the 2016 Welsh Cycling Road Race Championships

Strong line-up for the 2016 Welsh Cycling Road Race Championships

Home » Road racing

Llandrindod Wells will play host to the Welsh Cycling Road Race Championships on Sunday 5 June, where over 130 cyclists from across wales will battle to be crowned Welsh Champion for 2016.

The 17-mile circuit departs Llandrindod Wells Youth Club in the direction of Newtown, to Rhayader and Builth Wells before the completion of the circuit. The Senior Men will complete five laps of the circuit, whilst the Women’s/Master’s/Junior Women will complete three laps.

Anne Adams-King, Chief Executive Officer at Welsh Cycling said: “There is an exciting line-up for this years’ Championships, which will provide a thrilling race for spectators. Combining the road and time trial championships will make a fantastic weekend for cycling. I’m looking forward to joining our clubs and fans of cycling in Powys to embrace the Welsh Championships over the weekend.”

Senior Men

Defending champion Stephen Williams, JLT Condor will be looking to secure his second Welsh title on the mid-Wales course, but will face tough competition in a strong Championship field.

Jon Mould, JLT Condor, Dale Appleby and Rob Partridge, NFTO have both put in solid performances in the Pearl Izumi Tour Series and will challenge for the Welsh title. Recent winner of the Welsh Cycling MTB XC Champion title, Dylan Kerfoot-Robson, Team USN, will be on the start line in Llandrindod Wells could he make it a Welsh double?

Women/Master/Junior Women

In the Women/Master/Junior Women Championship, there are two returning Champions set to defend their title. Courtney Rowe, Alé DMT Cipollini UK will look to defend his Master E+ title, whilst Megan Chard, PMR@Toachim House will look to defend her Junior Women’s title. Chard will be up against Liv Cycling Club - Epic Coaching’s Lizzie Bennett and Emily Tillett with all three having a positive start to the season competing in Europe. With the absence of Janet Rees, there will be a new Women’s Champion in June.

Senior Men will depart at 11.00am, and the Women/Master/Junior Women will depart at 11.15am.

Time Trial

The Road Championships are preceded by the Welsh Cycling Time Trial Championships on Saturday 4 June. 45 riders will test themselves on the 13.6mile course in Rhayader with titles in Men’s, Women’s, Master’s and Junior Men’s categories.

The time trial starts at 11.00am from Rhayader Leisure Cente.

With clubs represented from all corners of Wales, the Welsh Cycling Road Race Championships are a great opportunity to support your club members as they battle for the coveted Welsh titles.

Follow Welsh Cycling on Twitter for race updates with reports, results and images available at

Start List - Time Trial

Start List - Road Race