Preview: 2012 Ras De Cymru

Home » Road racing
Testament to the popularity of the event, the Ras De Cymru has once again been well over-subscribed. With 2010 and 2011 winner Mike Smith and several others now first category riders and ineligible, the event is now wide open to a raft of new riders from all over the UK.

Ras regulars High Wycombe CC along with London Phoenix and Team Zappis are the only returning teams but there are familiar names among some of the other teams. Paul Mace returns for his fourth Ras De Cymru along with Neil Baxter and James Morris in the Blumilk squad. London Phoenix make one change to the team they fielded in 2011 but Team Zappis have a completely new line-up.

The contest for 'local' bragging rights sees Bevan Humphreys, Rowan Marshall and Justin Harcourt return, teamed up with Glyndwr Griffiths in the newly formed Urban Cyclery squad, to take on the first timers from Cardiff Ajax.

The eighth edition of the event runs from 27th June to 1st July and daily reports and results will be posted on this website.

The race manual and rider list are now available to download.


Hard copies of the race manual will be issued to riders and helpers at registration.

If any rider has to withdraw from the race, the team can make a substitution up to one day before the event. Please e-mail a BC entry form for the new rider to the race organiser and indicate which rider has withdrawn. If a team cannot replace a rider please let the organiser know as he may be able to fill the place with a reserve.


All riders in composite teams MUST be wearing identical jersey designs for every stage of the event.