Geraint Thomas and Nicole Cooke named in Team GB Squad for London 2012

Geraint Thomas and Nicole Cooke named in Team GB Squad for London 2012

Home » Road racing

Welsh cyclists Geraint Thomas and Nicole Cooke have been selected as part of the Team GB Cycling Squad for the London 2012 Olympics. The squad of 18 cyclists was confirmed by British Olympic Association on Wednesday at Manchester Velodrome.

Geraint Thomas won the World Team Pursuit Title with Team GB in Melbourne earlier this year

Geraint Thomas, who won Olympic gold in the Team Pursuit in Beijing 2008, has been preparing for the London 2012 since November last year. He wrote on his website after the announcement,

“It was nice to officially ‘get the nod’ for Team GB’ today! It’s not something I’ve taken for granted but also not something I’ve been thinking about either. We, the team pursuit squad, have simply been concentrating on our plan set out since November. It’s very exciting now, as we enter our ‘final phase’ of preparation. There has been a lot of talk about the London Games over the last few years. I just can’t wait to get racing now! Bring it on!”

Nicole Cooke, who started the gold rush in Beijing 2008 in the Women’s Road Race event, has been named in a short list of six women in the road squad. This list will be narrowed to four before the road events at the end of July.

Commonwealth Games medallist Becky James has also been named as a substitute for Team GB in the track events, in the event of sickness or injury

The Men's and Women's Road Race events start the cycling competition on 28th and 29th July.

Team GB Cycling Squad for London 2012
Track Sprint:
Philip Hindes
Chris Hoy
Jason Kenny
Victoria Pendleton
Jessica Varnish

Track Endurance:
Steven Burke
Edward Clancy
Wendy Houvenaghel
Peter Kennaugh
Danielle King
Joanna Rowsell
Andrew Tennant
Geraint Thomas
Laura Trott

Liam Phillips
Shanaze Reade

Cross Country Mountain Biking:
Liam Killeen
Annie Last

Men’s Road (five to ride)
Mark Cavendish
Steve Cummings
Chris Froome
Jeremy Hunt
David Millar
Ian Stannard
Ben Swift
Bradley Wiggins

Women’s Road (four to ride)
Lizzie Armitstead
Nicole Cooke
Katie Colclough
Sharon Laws
Lucy Martin
Emma Pooley