Report: Welsh Cyclo-Cross League Rd 2

Report: Welsh Cyclo-Cross League Rd 2

Home » Cyclo-cross

Bookmark and Share  BC on Facebook Follow British Cycling on FacebookBC on TwitterFollow British Cycling on Twitter

Welsh Cyclo-Cross League Round 2

Penlan Sports Fields, Brecon - 11 October 2009
Report: Liz Slater | Images Alison Wylde

What a difference a day makes! On Saturday the weather was sunny and the course dry for the 2009 Welsh Schools Cyclo-Cross Championships, the first event of a weekend of ‘cross at this scenic venue. But on Sunday sagging course-marking tape and back-wheel spray were the order of the day; the new number-boards sponsored by Cyclopaedia of Cardiff proved their worth as back numbers became unreadable.

Many U12s returned, having raced on the Saturday, to find the course conditions much different but Teifion Best (Abergavenny RC) wasted no time in resuming the previous day's rivalries with Jessica Roberts (Towy Riders) in the absence of Joe Holt who would be racing in the U14s. It was not long before the pair distanced themselves from the chasers with Roberts glued to Best's back wheel. She was, however, unable to overhaul him and settled for 2nd and 1st U12 Girl with Best making it a weekend double. Ieuan Best held on to 3rd place after an excellent race-long tussle with Scott Dunster (Brecon Wheelers). In the U10s it took until the penultimate lap for U10 Girls Schools Champion Megan James (Abergavenny RC) to shake off team-mate Joe Beckingsale.

With William Worrall contesting the National Trophy event in Derby, it was Adam King (Maindy Flyers) who took to the front along with medallists from the previous day's event Owen James (Towy Riders) and Geraint Manley (Cardiff JIF). The trio stayed together, with King at the front and Manley having to catch up after the run down and up the bank, and it came down to a three-up sprint for the line with James the winner. Like brother Scott in the U12s, Ben Dunster (Brecon Wheelers) also had an excellent race finishing 1st U14 Boy in 5th place. Amy Hill (Newport Velo) was 1st U16 Girl and Emily Haycox (Maindy Flyers) 1st U14 Girl.

The rain started to ease as the Senior race progressed but probably went un-noticed by the riders as water sprayed up at them from the bike in front. It was Round 1 winner Andrew Baum (unattached) who led the field for most of the first half of the race, closely followed by George Rose (Abergavenny RC) and Ian Jeremiah (Cardiff JIF). But on the 7th lap Rose ceased the advantage coming out of the run-up and opened up a gap on Baum which had increased to 30 seconds by the finish. Jeremiah came in a further 15 seconds down and 1st Veteran. Luke Cornish (Towy Riders) was 1st Junior and Melanie Alexander (unattached) 1st Woman.


1 George Rose Abergavenny RC S
2 Andrew Baum S
3 Ian Jeremiah Cardiff JIF V
4 Phil Morris Dambusters S
5 Mark Spratt S
6 Ross Porter Cwmcarn Paragon V
7 Mark Davies Cardiff JIF S
8 Mark James MI Racing V
9 Richard Bowen Abergavenny RC S
10 Grant Leavy Forza Cycles S
11 David Jarrom S
12 Matthew Jones Cwmcarn Paragon S
13 Andy Pearce Forza Cycles V
14 Adrian Peall S
15 Donald Gray Cardiff JIF V
16 Craig Standage Cardiff JIF S
17 Rhys Powell Abergavenny RC S
18 John Holt Llyn CC S
19 Simon Nurse Cardiff JIF S
20 Lynn Lines Gateway Cycles RT V
21 Gareth Chislett Abertillery Wheelers S
22 Neil Cox Abergavenny RC S
23 Owen Davies Abergavenny RC S
24 Joe Lally CC Abergavenny S
25 Jeff Thomas Abergavenny RC V
26 Martin Grimes Climb On Bikes V
27 Ian Evans Halesowen A & CC V
28 David Walker Cardiff JIF V
29 Chris Matthews Ogmore Valley Wheelers V
30 Alan Gardner Brecon MTB S
31 Andrew Parry Abergavenny RC S
32 Melanie Alexander W
33 Peter Windsor Llyn CC V
34 Shaun Lewis M & D Cycles S
35 Steve Thomas Abergavenny RC V
36 Luke Cornish Towy Riders J
37 Graham Lee Epic Cycles V
38 Jack Newton Towy Riders S
39 Matthew Corran M & D Cycles S
40 William Tenison J
41 John Hughes Acme Wheelers V
42 Martin Penticost M & D Cycles S
43 Michael Roach V
44 Paul Colman Pembrokeshire Velo V
45 Alistair Morgan Cwmcarn Paragon V
46 Mathu O'Hagan M & D Cycles S
47 David Miles Schmoos/Swansea CC V
48 Gareth Hall Cwmcarn Paragon S
49 Bryn Ruston Cardiff Ajax V
50 Jeff Lewis Cardiff Tri V
51 Kevin Dunster Brecon Wheelers V
52 Phil Harries Cardiff Ajax V
53 Hugo Alexandre Cardiff JIF V
54 Steve Higgins-Worrall Abergavenny RC V
55 Phil Davies M & D Cycles S
56 John Hosking Abergavenny RC V
57 Ricky MacGough V
58 Tim Jones Bynea CC V
59 Laura Williams Cardiff JIF W
60 Marcus Burkitt Cwmcarn Paragon V
61 Serena Wood M & D Cycles W
62 Carol Miller W

Novice Women
1 Stephanie Best Abergavenny RC NW
2 Kay Higgins-Worrall Abergavenny RC NW

1 Owen James Towy Riders U
2 Adam King Maindy Flyers U
3 Geraint Manley Cardiff JIF U
4 Matthew Thompson Maindy Flyers U
5 Ben Dunster Brecon Wheelers U
6 Scott Davies Towy Riders U
7 Amy Hill Newport Velo Ug
8 Alex Burkitt Cwmcarn Paragon U
9 Joe Holt Llyn CC U
10 William James Brecon Wheelers U
11 Samuel Leigh-Cattrall Towy Riders U
12 Ethan Lee Epic Cycles U
13 Sam Ellis Abergavenny RC U
14 Rowan Miller Maindy Flyers U
15 Dan Colman Towy Riders U
16 Emily Haycox Maindy Flyers Ug
17 Sophie Burkitt Cwmcarn Paragon Ug
18 Olivia Griffiths Towy Riders Ug

Under 12
1 Teifion Best Abergavenny RC U
2 Jessica Roberts Towy Riders Ug
3 Ieuan Best Abergavenny RC U
4 Scott Dunster Brecon Wheelers U
5 Ben Beckingsale Abergavenny RC U
6 Nathan Ford Abergavenny RC U
7 Bethan Manley Maindy Flyers Ug
8 Lowri Thomas Abergavenny RC Ug
9 Elizabeth Bennett Cardiff JIF Ug
10 Rhys Roberts Towy Riders U
11 Mererid Hunt Towy Riders Ug
12 Ella Windsor Llyn CC Ug
13 Max Roberts Cwmcarn Paragon U
14 Grace Bennion Maindy Flyers Ug

Under 10
1 Megan James Abergavenny RC Ug
2 Joe Beckingsale Abergavenny RC U
3 Huw Higgins-Worrall Abergavenny RC U
4 Llewellyn Price Abergavenny RC U
5 Rhys Thomas Abergavenny RC U
6 Tomos Lane Abergavenny RC U
7 Dylan Evans Abergavenny RC U
8 Rhys Barter M & D Cycles U
9 Ella Doheny Abergavenny RC Ug
10 Charlie Firth Towy Riders U
11 Alex Powell Team Dirty Weekend U
12 Mitchell Cole Abergavenny RC U
13 Isabelle Bennett Cardiff JIF Ug
14 Thomas Chaplin Abergavenny RC U
15 Alex Griffiths Abergavenny RC U
16 Connor Lewis-Stanley M & D Cycles U

Ryan Windsor Llyn CC U DNS
Ashley Cole Abergavenny RC U DNS


Cyclo-cross Events

Find Events Near Me: