Welsh Cyclo Cross League draws to a close in Caerphilly

Welsh Cyclo Cross League draws to a close in Caerphilly

Home » Cyclo-cross


Maindy Flyers’ customary Christmas ‘Cross brought another very successful Welsh Cyclo-Cross League season to a cold and wet end at Mountain Ranch overlooking Caerphilly Mountain.

Riders sought warmth and hot food and drinks in the site’s canteen and engraved glass plaques and perpetual trophies were duly presented by Welsh Cycling Chair, Nick Smith. A total of 222 riders entered the 6 events required for an overall standing, with 94 of these under 12.

View more images from Huw Fairclough on Welsh Cycling Facebook.

U8 Boys
1st Cian Evans (Builth Bulls)
2nd Rory Gravelle (Towy Riders)
3rd Charlie Beckett (Cardiff JIF)

U8 Girls
1st Evelyn Nurse (Cardiff JIF)
2nd Libby Carton (West Wales Cycle Racing)
3rd Holly Pitt (Gower Riders)

U10 Boys
1st Finlay Tarling (West Wales Cycle Racing)
2nd Alfie Davies (Cycle-Tec)
3rd Oscar Davies (CC Abergavenny)

U10 Girls
1st = Awen Roberts (Towy Riders)
1st = Bethany Bennett (Sosban Riders)
3rd Evelyn Higgins-Worrall (Abergavenny RC)

U12 Boys
1st Joshua Tarling (West Wales Cycle Racing)
2nd Griff Lewis (West Wales Cycle Racing)
3rd Jack Hastings (Cardiff JIF)

U12 Girls
1st Rosie Finucane (Towy Riders)
2nd Zoe Backstedt (Maindy Flyers)
3rd Shannon Haird (West Wales Cycle Racing)

U14 Boys
1st Owain Roberts (Towy Riders)
2nd Sam Beckett (Cardiff JIF)
3rd Oliver Beere (Maindy Flyers)

U14 Girls
1st Eluned King (Towy Riders)
2nd Elena Shaw (Maindy Flyers)
3rd Elynor Backstedt (Maindy Flyers)

U16 Boys
1st Tomos Nesham (Cardiff JIF)
2nd Ioan Thomas (Towy Riders)
3rd Tyler Brennan (West Wales Cycle Racing)

Novice Women
1st Hayley Parry (Urban Cyclery)
2nd Bonna Williams (John Lloyd Racing Events)
3rd Sarah Marshall

Junior Men
1st Jacob Phelps (Cardiff Ajax)
2nd Teifion Best (Abergavenny RC)
3rd Matthew Thorne (Paul Milnes Cycles)

Senior Women
1st Donna Morris (xcracer.com)
2nd Clare Hoskins (Cardiff JIF)
3rd Meg Backstedt (Maindy Flyers)

Senior Men
1st Andrew Parry (Urban Cyclery)
2nd Joe Lally (CC Abergavenny)
3rd David Thomas (Builth Bulls)
4th Gruff Lewis (Pedal Heaven)
5th Andrew Baum (Unity Cycleworks)

Veteran 40+ Men
1st Tim Davies (CC Abergavenny)
2nd Mark James (Jewson/Polypipe/MI Racing)
3rd Matthew Beckett (Cardiff JIF)
4th Guy Stevens (Abergavenny RC)
5th Michael Greaves (Gannet CC)

Veteran 50+ Men
1st Grant Johnson (Sunset Cycles)
2nd Ross Porter (Cwmcarn Paragon)
3rd Donald Gray (Cardiff JIF)

Veteran 60+ Men
1st Graham Edwards (Abergavenny RC)
2nd John Lloyd (Builth Bulls)
3rd Tim Jones (Bynea CC)

Overall League Winner
Andrew Parry (Urban Cyclery)

Best Newcomer
Owen Birch (Abergavenny RC)

Most Improved Rider
Kyle Jones (Maindy Flyers)

League Loyalty Award
Jacob Parry (Urban Cyclery)