Litelok take headline sponsor at Welsh Cycling Awards 2018

Litelok take headline sponsor at Welsh Cycling Awards 2018


Welsh Cycling are set to celebrate an evening of cycling success this month as the team look to share the journey of both world beating athletes and the selfless work undertaken by our army of volunteers at grass roots level.

Taking the headline sponsor at the Welsh Cycling Awards 2018, Litelok Founder and CEO Professor Neil Barron said “The introduction of an Outstanding Achievement Award demonstrates the high level of performance that has taken place for Welsh riders during 2018. It’s a great year to support the talent in Wales, we hope our relationship with Welsh Cycling will continue to develop with its overwhelming success”.


Anne Adams-King, CEO at Welsh Cycling said: "We are really pleased to have Litelok join our seven other Award Sponsors and become part of a very special evening.  Plans are in place for an exciting event as we celebrate our journey in 2018”. 

“We’ve witnessed inspiring success through the first welsh grand tour winner, significant increases of Welsh Cycling clubs and British Cycling membership, new and refurbished facilities and an outstanding achievement that we all followed day by day winning six medals from our best ever Commonwealth Games in the Gold Coast. 

The event takes place at the Mercure Hotel in Cardiff on 20th October.  As well as the presentation to outstanding winners on the night, Welsh Cycling will also host a Question & Answer session with Gold Coast Medal winners Jon Mould, Lewis Oliva and Dani Rowe.

Anne Adams-King added: "This is a night to celebrate all our achievements.  We’re looking forward to seeing so many clubs, volunteers and athletes enjoy the evening, enjoy their own successes and share their journey in an evening of celebrations”.

A massive Thank You is extended to all our Sponsors who have made the journey with us this year and made the Awards possible.

2018 Welsh Cycling Awards Sponsors and Shortlist 2018:

SweetSpot Volunteer of the Year 2018 

Jo Phillips | Ian Fennel | Steve Gabriel

Frog Bikes Coach of the Year 2018

Haydn Jones | Michael Tarling | Zoe Briffett

Capitol Skoda Newport Club Cyclist of the Year 2018

Richard Smith | Kristian Bond | Sacha Baber

HSBC Go Ride Club of the Year 2018         

West Wales Cycle Racing Team | Gower Riders Cycle Club | Hafren Cycle Club | Whitchurch Cycling Club                                                                                    

Primal Club of the Year 2018 (Live Vote)

Whitchurch Cycling Club | Bike Doctor | Caerphilly Cycling Club | Ystwyth Cycling Club

Colin Thornton Junior Performance of the Year 2018

Joe Beckingsale | Imogen Morris | Zoe Backstedt

SD Sealants Elite Performance of the Year 2018

Elinor Barker | Jon Mould | Stevie Williams

Kilsby Williams Lifetime Contribution to Cycling in Wales 2018

Andrew Barnwell | Jason Carpenter | John Richards

Announcement:  Litelok Outstanding Achievement Award 2018

The event celebrates and recognises the very best in Welsh Cycling. The highlight of the evening will be the announcement of the winner of the Outstanding Achievement Award – the highest accolade we have given at the Welsh Cycling Awards.