Nominations are open for the 2014 USN Welsh Cycling Awards!

Nominations are open for the 2014 USN Welsh Cycling Awards!


Volunteers, officials and coaches who go the extra mile to make a difference to our sport here in Wales will once again be recognised for their commitment and contribution to the sport of cycling alongside Wales’ elite cyclists at the 2014 USN Welsh Cycling Awards.

There will be 12 awards on offer, including Lifetime Contribution to Cycling to recognise individuals who have made a significant impact on cycling in Wales. Cycling clubs and members are invited to nominate their cycling champions who will be awarded at the dinner on Saturday 18 October at the Millennium Stadium, Cardiff.

Welsh Cycling are proud to once again partner with USN UK Ltd as headline sponsor of the 2014 USN Welsh Cycling Awards, after a second successful track season with Welsh UCI Track Trade Team, Team USN and an inspirational 12 months of cycling in Wales.

Jason Oakley, Managing Director of USN UK Limited said:

“USN are proud to be sponsoring the Welsh Cycling Awards again this year. We are moving into our third year as the primary partner of Team USN, and are excited to enhance our relationship with the sponsorship of the awards. We are hoping the evening celebrates both the development and success of Welsh Cycling and cycling in Wales, from grass roots to the elite riders.”

2013 saw Bill Owen, organiser of the Abergavenny Festival of Cycling recognised for his years of dedication to cycling in Wales with the Lifetime Contribution to Cycling accolade. Geraint Thomas MBE received Elite Cyclist of the Year for his incredible achievements in the peloton with Team Sky, and Dave Robson was rewarded for his dedication and professionalism in his role of commissaire.

Anne Adams-King, Chief Executive Officer of Welsh Cycling is pleased to see the event develop into it’s second year:

“The 2014 USN Welsh Cycling Awards is a fantastic opportunity to recognise people from all corners of the cycling community in Wales who dedicate their time to developing our sport and providing opportunities for everyone to enjoy cycling in Wales.

The awards ceremony is also an exciting opportunity for businesses to engage with cycling and it’s rising stars in Wales as well as hear about the terrific work done by the people at the heart of cycling in Wales, the clubs, the volunteers and the coaches.”


  • Services to Commissairing
  • Club of the Year
  • Event Organiser of the Year
  • Unsung Hero Award
  • Coach of the Year
  • Colin Thornton Award for Junior Performance
  • Paracyclist of the Year
  • Club Cyclist of the Year
  • Elite Cyclist of the Year
  • Outstanding Performance if the Year
  • Lifetime Contribution to Cycling in Wales

Nominations will be shortlisted with winners decided by a panel of cycling experts, with the winners announced at the glittering award ceremony in October. Tickets for the event will go on sale in August.

Please send completed nomination forms to Helen Showdery  by Sunday 31 August 2014.

If you are interested in supporting the 2014 USN Welsh Cycling Awards through sponsorship, please contact Jake Eddy

2014 USN Welsh Cycling Awards Downloads

Nomination Form
Award Categories
Terms and Conditions