Luke Rowe to compete in the Vuelta A Espana

Luke Rowe to compete in the Vuelta A Espana


Team Sky has selected its line-up for the 68th edition of the Vuelta a Espana, which starts in Galicia this Saturday 24 August.

The team is drawn from seven different nations with Sergio Henao set to lead the charge after an impressive season which has yielded 17 top-10 finishes to date.

The 25-year-old Colombian will be joined in a strong nine-man line up by Edvald Boasson Hagen, Dario Cataldo, Vasil Kiryienka, Christian Knees, Salvatore Puccio, Luke Rowe, Rigoberto Uran and Xabier Zandio.

Confirming the final selection for the Vuelta a Espana team, Team Principal Sir Dave Brailsford said: “It’s a testament to the strength and depth in this team that we can line up in all three Grand Tours this year with such strong squads.

We’ve watched Sergio develop since he joined the team and this is a great opportunity for him to demonstrate what he is capable of on a big stage like the Vuelta.

We have selected a squad for all eventualities out on the road and we’re excited to get started and to try to build on our success this season.”

Team leader Sergio Henao said: “The Vuelta is a huge race for me and an important and prestigious event.

It is an honour to be picked as the team leader and it’s a responsibility that I want to try and fulfil. I respect what the team has asked of me and I want to try and make the most out of the opportunity.

The Vuelta is always a hard race and it’s getting tougher every year. There are a lot of great riders targeting the race this season and the racing is going to be at a really high level.”

The full Team Sky line-up for the 2013 Vuelta a Espana will be:

Sergio Henao                                                                                                   

Edvald Boasson Hagen                                                

Dario Cataldo                                                                                      

Vasil Kiryienka                                                                                                  

Christian Knees                                                                                                

Salvatore Puccio                                                                                             

Luke Rowe                                                                                                          

Rigoberto Uran                                                                                                 

Xabier Zandio