Welshman Harrison powers to national title in Scotland

Welshman Harrison powers to national title in Scotland


Results: | |

Welshman Sam Harrison retained his under-23 British Time Trial Championship title with a strong performance in Stewarton, Scotland.

The 20-year-old 100% ME rider completed the 35.2-kilometre course in East Ayrshire, Scotland in 44 minutes and 47 seconds, ahead of Joe Perret and teammate George Atkins.

After the first of two 17.6-kilometre laps Harrison, out last as defending champion, was 32 seconds up on Perret and had 43 seconds on Dan McLay.

And although Perret reduced the deficit to 24 seconds he was unable to deny the Great Britain Cycling Team rider his victory.

After the race, Harrison spoke to British Cycling, putting into context why the win was so important - beyond proving himself in a physical test.

"It's always good when there's a good standard field to pull off the win. I felt bad in the week coming up, but I'd been targeting and training for it for a while and I was hoping that on the day I could pull it off so luckily I was on a good day.

"In the last couple of years I haven't put myself on the line saying I want to target a specific thing, I've not really stepped up under pressure on the road so I'm really happy to pull it off on the day."

Newport’s Jon Mould, came in sixth in the under-23 competition after recently completing the tour series with Team UK Youth. Riding for Rapha Condor JLT, Ed Lavaerack made his debut in the competition and secured a top ten position in the final standings. All are set to start the road championship on Sunday.  

World Junior Time Trial Champion Elinor Barker made her debut in the Women’s event, alongside Wiggle-Honda teammate Amy Roberts. The set up to the senior level tested both the riders, where two laps of the 17.6-kiloometre had to be completed.

Barker set off behind Olympic road champion Lizzie Armitstead but held her nerve to finish seventh in her first senior championship with a time of 51:42.74. Carmarthen-born Amy Roberts posted a time of 55:59.49 putting her 22 in the event. Their Wiggle-Honda teammate and Olympic track gold medallist Joanna Rowsell claimed the national title, ahead of Lizzie Armitstead and Katie Colcough.

Barker and Roberts will begin the British National Road Championships on Sunday morning in the city centre circuit in Glasgow.

In the Men's championship, Luke Rowe, Team Sky, set off as one of the seeded riders, but was unable to secure a podium position despite being just 5 seconds off team mate Ben Swift who secured a bronze position in the final standings. Rob Partridge, Team UK Youth finished inside the top 10. Alex Dowsett claimed th title, after a crash early in his first lap, still finishing 21 seconds ahead of second place Matt Bottrill.

2013 British Time Trial Championships Results:

Men (hour.min.sec)
1. Alex Dowsett 1.02.30
2. Matt Bottrill +0.00.21
3. Ben Swift +0.00.21
4. Douglas Dewey +0.00.32
5. Luke Rowe +0.00.49


Under-23 men (min:sec.hun)

1. Sam Harrison 44:47.965
2. Joe Perrett +00.23.036
3. George Atkins +01:24.602
4. Dan McLay +02:04.436
5. Jon Dibben +02:41.777
6. Jon Mould +02:55.604
7. Josh Teasdale +03:26.222
8. Liam Glen +03:40.527
9. Elliott Porter +03:41.796
10. Ed Laverack +03:42.342


Women (min:sec)
1. Joanna Rowsell 49:25
2. Lizzie Armitstead +00:32
3. Katie Colclough +01.37
4. Emma Trott +01:56
5. Laura Trott +02:01
6. Lucy Coldwell +02:15
7. Elinor Barker +02:17
8. Anna Turvey +02:38
9. Hannah Barnes +02:57
10. Julia Shaw +03:19


For full report and results visit britishcycling.org.uk