Track World Cup Glasgow Member Access
Trott picks up first gold of 2013 British National Track Championships

Trott picks up first gold of 2013 British National Track Championships

Home » Track cycling

| | |

Double Olympic champion Laura Trott picked up her first gold of the 2013 British National Track Championships with victory in the women’s individual pursuit on Thursday.

Trott beat Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling and Great Britain teammate Dani King by over seven seconds in the three-kilometre race with a time of 3.34.973 at the Manchester Velodrome, Katie Archibald (City of Edinburgh RC) preventing a Wiggle 1-2-3 with a win over Elinor Barker in the bronze medal final.

“I saw my coach walking Dani (King) and I was just thinking ‘am I up or am I down?’ and when I saw I was up I just thought ‘thank goodness for that!’,” 22-year-old Trott said after her win.

Tickets for the championships are still available from Ticketmaster.

Great Britain’s Kian Emadi (Tunstall Wheelers CC) successfully defended his men’s kilo title, the 21-year-old defeating Ed Clancy (Rapha Condor JLT) in the gold medal ride in 1.01.702 with Matthew Crampton third.

Emadi, who secured back-to-back British titles with his triumph, said: "The race was a lot tougher and closer this year so it's a great feeling to win. I hadn’t done much specific kilo training so it was just a case of turning up and seeing what I could do."

The event also saw Paralympian Jody Cundy, eighth overall, set a new para-cycling world record in his category, his time 1.05.029. "A PB and a new world record is a great start to a new season with a new coach," he said.

Clancy did eventually collect his second gold of the competition in the 30-kilometre points race, gaining a late lap to help the 28-year-old finish with 59 points ahead of Sam Harrison (100 ME%) (57 points) with Jake Ragan (Wheelbase Altura) third (51 points).

“It was quite a negative race to begin with,” Clancy said. "Everyone was just waiting for the second half and I just went with a couple of soft moves and just went away.

“I really died off with the last seven laps to go, it was just me and George (Atkins) out the back and we were just fighting to try and get the lap. George kept looking back at me to see if I could come through but he just kept digging and we got the lap, it was quite fun really.”

In the BVI male & female para-cycling 200 metre flying start time trial, Sophie Thornhill (Sportcity Velo) and pilot Helen Scott (Performance Cycle Coaching) took a second win in as many days while Crystal Lane (Scott Contessa Epic) triumphed in the C1-5 category of the same discipline.

Neil Fachie (Ythan CC) and Peter Mitchell (Performance Cycle Coaching) took second in the BVI male & female event as Aileen McGlynn and Lauryn Therin (Champion System) ended third.

Behind Lane in the C1-5 event, there was silver for Mazyar Ossamisaeed and bronze for Jaco van Gass (Team Battle Back).

The championships continue on Friday.


Women's individual pursuit
Men's kilo time trial
Para-cycling 200 metre flying start time trial


Watch the team live