Biggleswade Grass Track Meeting

Biggleswade Grass Track Meeting

Home » Track cycling

Location: Fairfield Sports Ground
Event: 14 July 2012

Report: Max Pendleton

Saturday 14th July saw the running of the 62nd Biggleswade Sports Meeting at the Fairfield Sports Ground at Biggleswade in Bedfordshire. Over the years this is an event that has moved from a mixture of sports to be a predominantly cycling event.

Saturday saw 'interesting' conditions with the cyclists flogging through rain sodden grass and toward the end of the meeting, mud. This year there were two events from the Season Long National Series Leagues. The first of these was a sprint event run over 660 metres and was won by CC Ashwell Rider Andrew Leveton. Andrew was the winner overall of the 2011 series and looks to be in a commanding position for the 2012 series at the half way point. There were four heats of this event, one won by Leveton, one by each of his team mates from CC Ashwell Cameron Wolsey and Theo Doncaster, the other rider with a straight route to the final was Jamie Streather from VC St Raphael. Two other riders qualified for the final through the repercharge, another CC Ashwell rider Bryn Davies and Mike Tyas from Maldon in Essex. Of the six that made the final four were then from CC Ashwell, three of those are youth riders. The final was very quick for the conditions but Leveton, who is training with the National Olympic Development Squad, has so much power of late that he was able to control the race then win with ease.

The senior riders rode two distance events, the first a 'devil take the hindmost' was won in convincing style by Cameron Wolsey of CC Ashwell who escaped the field at about half distance, a chase was led by team-mate Theo Doncaster, taking care not to bring anyone with him and the two finished well clear of the remainder of the field. The final senior event of the afternoon was held over 14 laps and formed a part of the National Endurance League Series. The race was some 4.5 Km instead of the advertised 8Km, this reduction is distance was due the track getting heavier and heavier throughout the afternoon, despite the rain holding off whilst the event was in progress. This event was again a war of attrition with a near identical result to the Devil, Cameron Wolsey again rode away from the field alone and again Theo Doncaster chased to take second place, this time third was taken by Simon Daw from CC Sudbury, with George Wood from Maldon 4th and Gavin Daley (Lincoln) 5th. Another CC Ashwell rider Jonathan Chapman took 6th.

Amongst the youth riders there was again a preponderance of CC Ashwell youngsters with Oliver Wolsey and Henry Skelding coming first and second whilst Holly Robertson, another CCA rider outpaced the other boys in the final. The under 10 sprint was won by Henry Williams from James Fraser and Adam Lightfoot, all CC Ashwell riders. The sprint handicaps were won by Noah Field for the Under14s, taking first from James Fraser and Adam Lightfoot, again all CCA riders. The under 10 handicap was won by James Fraser, with Sophie Lewis second and Henry Williams third. The block handicap event was won by delighted 7 year old Pheobe Lewis who cashed in on her, some say, over generous handicap.

There were a number of running events, where cyclists took an active part. These were as always well provided with prizes courtesy of the efforts of Des Ball. Overall a surprisingly good afternoon's entertainment with the rain holding off whilst event were in progress and the sun coming out in time for the prize giving.