Track World Cup Glasgow Member Access
Gold for Georgi in Newport

Gold for Georgi in Newport

Home » Track cycling

Pfeiffer Georgi continued her terrific year with points gold on day two of the HSBC UK | National Youth and Junior Track Championships.

The Liv CC – Halo Cycles rider, who has had big wins domestically and representing Great Britain Cycling Team, took the junior women’s points title with a dominant display, scoring in all but two of the sprints and taking a lap over the field along with three other riders.

Georgi’s efforts saw her take 38 points overall, with teammate Anna Docherty second on 28 and Elynor Backstedt (Team Backstedt-Hotchillee) third on 23.

Lusia Steele celebrated her Great Britain Cycling Team selection with gold in the sprint.

The 18-year-old will travel to Aigle for the UCI Junior Track Cycling World Championships full of confidence after a terrific performance in Newport.

The Glasgow CT rider set the fastest time in qualifying (11.904) on her way to taking the title, beating Alexandra Novacki of Sportcity Velo in the final.

Bronze went to Towy Riders’ Emma Finucane, beating Aleshia Mellor (Brooks-Cronshaw) to third place.

Slingshot's Ali Fielding, another rider set to compete for his country in Switzerland next month, won the junior men's sprint competition.

Fielding beat Daniel Cooper (Team Terminator) in the final with James Bunting (Black Line) winning bronze.

Oscar Julien Nilsson won the under-16 men’s scratch race.

It’s the VC Londres rider’s second medal of the week after taking bronze in the sprint on day one.

Rhys Thomas (Fusion-Gearclub-WORX) and Robert Donaldson (Giant Halifax RT) took silver and bronze respectively.

In the under-16 women’s individual pursuit, Zoe Backstedt (Team Backstedt) showed her class to win the title.

She set a time of 2:27.605 in qualifying, almost seven seconds faster than her nearest rival, and went marginally quicker again in the final, stopping the clock in 2:27.517.

That effort was good enough for the gold, beating Towy Riders’ Amy Cole by over ten seconds.

Bronze went to Millie Couzens (PH-MAS-Paul Milnes Cycles).