Track World Cup Glasgow Member Access
Four champions crowned as British Cycling National Youth and Junior Track Championships begin

Four champions crowned as British Cycling National Youth and Junior Track Championships begin

Home » Track cycling

The 2015 British Cycling National Youth and Junior Track Championship began in Manchester on Monday, with four champions crowned in the under-16 boys, under-16 girls and junior men’s and women’s categories.

Jake Stewart triumphed in the under-16 boys’ points race, the Solihull CC rider having qualified second in his heat.

Come the final and Stewart scored in all but one of the six sprints, winning the third to take 14 points and the gold medal ahead of Bush Healthcare CRT’s Rhys Britton and’s Joseph Nally.

Sophie Capewell dominated the junior women’s sprint, beating Lauren Bate-Lowe 2-0 to claim gold.

The Lichfield City CC rider stated her intent in the 200-metre qualification, her time of 11.549 over three-tenths of a second faster than Bate.

A straight two-match quarter-final saw Capewell dispatch Sportcity Velo’s Sarah Gregson leading to a semi-final match with Team Jadan’s Monica Dew, with Capewell again progressing without the need for a third match.

Rebecca Dornan, third in qualifying was true to her 200-metre form, beating Monica Dew in the bronze final to claim the last medal.

Joseph Truman of I-Team Cyclist’s Club was the victor in the junior men’s one-kilometre time-trial, posting an impressive 1:03.883 to beat Sportcity Velo’s Thomas Rotherham to gold. County Cycles RT’s Joe Holt took bronze.

Stirling BC’s Jenny Holl took gold in the under-16 girls’ scratch race after a strong ride to second place in her qualifying heat. Cardiff JIF’s Sophie Williams took silver with VC Londres’ Rachel Jary bronze.

The championships continue until Friday 7 August.


Under-16 boys
Under-16 girls
Junior women
Junior men


Watch the team live