Stewart and Georgi win on day one of the Tour of the Kingdom

Stewart and Georgi win on day one of the Tour of the Kingdom

Home » Search

Jake Stewart (Swinnerton Cycles) and Ettienne Georgi (Giant CC) won the opening two stages of the Tour of the Kingdom – round five of the British Cycling Junior Road Series – on Saturday.

Stewart (Swinnerton Cycles) took victory in the opening stage as riders went from St Andrews to Kennoway, while Georgi (Giant CC) took the stage two win in Falkland.

Stage one

The race rolled out of St Andrews in glorious sunshine for a 66-kilometre scamper south towards Kennoway through the picturesque villages of the Fife countryside.

Grant Martin (Spokes Racing Team) took the KoM at Strathkinness on the opening loop of the course. Martin - along with James Higgenson (Catford CC Equipe/Banks) and Stuart Paterson (Edinburgh CC) – had jumped away early in the day, opening up some 48 seconds to the main bunch.

The trio used the tight descent off the top to hold their lead, but on the second time around were joined by a select group including Rob Scott, Tom Pidcock and Adam Hartley (VCUK PH-MAS), Owen Dudley (Manx Viking) and Beacon Wheelers’ Mark Donovan. Martin jumped away to take the KoM on the second lap.

Gallery day one

British Cycling Junior Road Series round five, day one, June 4 2016

The race came back together as it took to the straight road to Kennoway. Small attacks tried to get away but it was with around 10 kilometres to go at Mildeans when Tom Pidcock jumped and held the gap on the main field.

It looked as though the VCUK rider would hold his lead, but the field organised itself and went on the chase, Pidcock having to surrender his lead with three kilometres to the finish.

Hitting the final bend towards the finish line, a group of some 60 riders spread across the road but it was Stewart who jumped to in the closing metres to take the sprint.

Stage two

Etienne Georgi (Giant CC-HALO Films) took the win at Falkland earlier and the overall lead in the second stage of the Tour of the Kingdom in a short but tough run from Kennoway to Falkland Hill.

Georgi’s team-mate Charlie Meredith rolled across the line a wheel’s distance behind in second whilst Velocity Globalbike’s Peter Kibble took third a handful of second behind.

By the time the race had reached Porter’s Summit on the opening loop a break of four had jumped away, Harry Yates(Hargroves Cycles-Ridley), Will Roberts (County Cycles), Finn Crockett (Ben Wyvis CC) and Rob Grey (HMT JLT Condor) had almost a minute over two chasers, Elliot Redfern (HMT JLT Condor) and VCUK’s Tom Chandler.

The group working well but the split wasn’t to survive when Rob Scott (VCUK PH-MAS) and Will Roberts attacked going into Craigrothie, the pair slowly increasing their lead to over a minute.

Kibble, Meredith and James Farrington (Sportcity Globalbikes) went on the chase and with Etienne Georgi joining the trio, it would only be a matter of time before the two leaders were caught.

With five kilometres remaining Farrington popped and rolled back to what was left of the main field. Scott dropped Roberts trough Falkland village and turned into the last climb alone, the green jersey looking as though he could take the win.

But the small chase had dug deep to catch the lone leader on the climb and with less than one kilometre remaining Georgi and Meredith attacked, Georgi coming into the bright sunshine with Meredith. Scott took fourth, the toll of the long break obvious on his face.

Stage one:

1. Jake Stewart Swinnerton Cycles 1:34.04
2. Ethan Hayter VC Londres
3. Joe Nally Hardie Bikes
4. Jacob Vaughan VC Londres
5. Matt Walls Velocity Globalbikes
6. Lewis Bulley HMT JLT Condor
7. Dylan Thomas VC Meudon
8. Will King Prologue RT
9. Stephen Dent Spokes RT
10 Adam Hartley VCUK PH-MAS all same time

Full stage one result

Stage two:

1 Etienne Georgi Giant Cycling Club - Halo Films 1:27:49
2 Charlie Meredith Giant Cycling Club at st
3 Peter Kibble Velocity Globalbike at 3sec
4 Robert Scott VCUK PH-MAS at 8sec
5 Timothy Jones Spokes Racing Team at 433sec
6 Ethan Hayter VC Londres at 1.10
7 Thomas Pidcock VCUK PH-MAS Cycling Team st
8 William Roberts County Cycles Racing Team at 1.12
9 Reece Wood Velocity Globalbike 1st st
10 Jake Stewart Swinnerton Cycles 2nd st

 Full stage two result