Thomas and Lewis too good as they claim Youth Circuit Series glory

Thomas and Lewis too good as they claim Youth Circuit Series glory

Home » Search

Rhys Thomas and Sophie Lewis showed their class as they edged out their opponents to emerge victorious in the Youth Circuit Series in Hillingdon.

Two sprint finishes welcomed the Under 16 Youth A Girls and Boys races as Thomas and Lewis held off the field in an actioned packed day of racing.

Thomas keeps pace to claim victory

A total of 79 racers took to the U16 boys event and the 1.5km circuit had plenty of tests for the young riders.

The race was frenetic from the start with Robert Donaldson of Giant Halifax Race Team one of the early animators.

Joseph Pidcock of PH-MAS/Paul Milnes Cycles was also near the front, along with series leader Oliver Stockwell of Welwyn Wheelers.

A group of five looked to have a chance 30 minutes in, but within a lap it was down to four riders -  Pidcock, Joe Kiely of Welwyn Wheelers, Oscar Nilsson-Julien of VC Londres and Oscar Onley of Squadra Scozzese – and a lap later it was just Pidcock and Kiely.

As that group faltered, Matthew Kingston of Lichfield City CC bridged across to the leading duo, but the bunch was breathing down their necks and within a lap it was all over.

Series leader Stockwell was up there – as was second-placed Jack Rootikin-Gray of Solihull Wheelers – but it was Rhys Thomas of MnD Fusion RT/Gearclub/WORX who took it on the line ahead of Donaldson, Stockwell and Hugo Lutz-Atkinson of Ribble Cycling.

Lethal Lewis edges triumph

While the Youth A Boys had been relatively incident-free – with just three riders failing to finish – the same can’t be said of the Youth A Girls race.

The first crash on lap three caused a 10-minute stoppage and another with three to go split the field up.

In between the first two incidents, the peloton was well organised and well disciplined. There were a few attempts to break the field, but nobody was able to pull out a significant gap and, like the days, it came down to a bunch sprint.

Sophie Lewis of Cycle Team On Form hit the line first, half a bike length ahead of Eva Young of Pedal Power Racing Team – with National Champion Emma Finucaine of Towy Riders just edging out Maddie Wadsworth of Beeline Bicycles RT for third.


Youth A Boys

1 Rhys Thomas MnD Fusion RT / Gearclub / WORX 1:13:41
2 Robert Donaldson Giant Halifax Race Team same time
3 Oliver Stockwell Welwyn Wheelers CC st
4 Hugo Lutz-Atkinson Ribble Cycling st
5 Matti Egglestone Beacon Wheelers st

Youth A Girls

1 Sophie Lewis Cycling Team On Form 1:06:08
2 Eva Young Pedal Power RT same time
3 Emma Finucane Towy Riders st
4 Maddie Wadsworth Beeline Bicycles RT st
5 Danielle Parker Team Backstedt/Hotchillee st

Youth B Boys

1 Jamie Whitcher Poole Wheelers 1:08:42
2 Mattie Dodd VC Londres @ 1 sec
3 Oliver Akers Holmfirth Cycling Club same time
4 Jed Smithson WORX Factory Racing @ 2 seconds
5 Noah Hobbs Lee Valley Youth Cycling Club @ 5 seconds

Youth B Girls

1 Zoe Backstedt Maindy Flyers Youth CC 1:04:51
2 Imani Pereira-James East Kilbride Road Club same time
3 Grace Lister Wolverhampton Wheelers @ 1 second
4 Awen Roberts Towy Riders same time
5 Grace Castle Mountain Goat Training st


British Cycling Youth Circuit Series - Hillingdon