Kerfoot-Robson crowned 2017 Welsh Road Race Champion

Kerfoot-Robson crowned 2017 Welsh Road Race Champion

Home » Search

Published: 20 August 2017

The 2017 Welsh Road Race and Time Trial Championships took place this Saturday 19 and Sunday 20 August.

Dylan Kerfoot-Robson, Team Wiggins secured the Senior Men's Welsh Road Race Championship title this Sunday 20 August at Cerrig-y-drudion against a strong line-up of cyclists from across Wales.

Kerfoot-Robson completed 3 laps of the challenging 33km Brenig course in an impressive time of 2:35:27, followed by Gruff Lewis of Madison Genesis and Dan Evans of Team Elite, who locked the silver and bronze championship medals.

This success follows the 21 year old rider from Denbighshire’s third consecutive Welsh Mountain Bike Cross Country win at the Royal Welsh Show Ground earlier in the summer.

Head coach at Welsh Cycling, Darren Tudor said “2017 has seen a change of direction for Dylan, with a focus on road following many years within mountain biking.

“Opportunities through Team Wiggins have offered Dylan the chance to learn and develop further within the discipline. An area, I’m sure he will continue to be successful in within 2018.

Welsh Road Race Champions also included Dan Coombe, Richard Harris, Timothy Davies, Jessica Roberts and Ruth Metcalfe.

Amy Gornhall of stole the Senior Women’s Road Race Championship title on Sunday 20 August, as well as the Time Trial Championship title on Saturday 19 August which saw Gornhall complete one lap of the 20.5 mile course in a speedy time of 57:36.45.

Time Trial Championship titles were also awarded to George Evans, James Tillett, David Poval, Garry Ellis, Gwenno Hughes, Annie Glover and Sally Cunliffe.

Chief Executive Officer at Welsh Cycling, Anne Adams-King said: "What a fantastic weekend of racing it has been.

"On behalf of Welsh Cycling, I'd like to congratulate all of our well-deserved, hard-working and talented Welsh Champions".

"Thank you to all of the riders, supporters, volunteers, NEG, Marshalls and of course VC Melyd for organizing and helping to make such a successful event. Without your support, our Welsh Championships would not be possible.


Welsh Road Race Championships – Race 1 (Sunday 20 August)

Welsh Road Race Championships – Race 2 (Sunday 20 August)

Welsh Time Trial Championships (Saturday 19 August)


Welsh Road Race Championships – Race 1

Welsh Road Race Championships – Race 2

Welsh Time Trial Championships