Race Report: Welsh Time Trial Championships 2017

Race Report: Welsh Time Trial Championships 2017

Home » Search

Riders battled it out for the Welsh Time Trial Championship titles today (Saturday 19 August) from the race HQ at Ysgol Cerrig-Y-Drudion.

The wet and slippery roads certainly tested the rider's handling and concentration skills on an already challenging 32.4km 'triangle' course.

From Ysgol Cerrig-Y-Drudion, riders made their way through Llyn Brenig, before the testing twisty descent down to Nant y Creau. The final section saw them tackle a tailwind-assisted blast down the A5 back towards the HQ.

First to complete the course was Garry Ellis of Clwb Beicio Egni, with an impressive time of  52:55 taking victory in the Men's V50+ competition.

New Women's Champion Amy Gornall from secrets-training.cc shortly followed, before VELOFLOW's Nathan Adams blasted in to top the V40+ standings with 51:48, topped a few minutes later by Clwb Beicio Egni's Gareth McGuinness, and then new V40+ Champ David Povall of Cwmcarn Paragon with 49:37.

Meanwhile new Junior Women's Champ Gwenno Hughes (NCC-Kuota-Torelli) popped in a striking performance at 1:01:12 .

Povall's time stood fastest until James Tillett of Giant CC - Halo Films zapped to the top of the junior rankings, and set a new overall fastest time - with a hugely impressive 49:11.

Only five riders later, Team Bottrill's George Evans lowered the mark to 46:05, and despite the exceptional efforts of Dylan Kerfoot Robson from Team Wiggins and Ioan Smallwood  from Cardiff Ajax who took silver and bronze, and defending champ Dan Evans from team Elite, George was soon pulling on the Welsh Champion's jersey.

A phenomenal day of racing from all riders!

Read the full list of results here