Guide: Great Britain Cycling Team at Derby Revolution Series

Guide: Great Britain Cycling Team at Derby Revolution Series

Home » Search

A stellar Great Britain Cycling Team will compete at this weekend’s Revolution Track Series opening round in Derby as the squad races to earn Rio 2016 Olympic qualifying points.

The team will compete across three days in endurance and sprint events in the newly-developed velodrome from the 14-16 August with a mixture of Olympic champions and Rio hopefuls in action.

British Cycling member ticket offer

Throughout the Revolution Series, British Cycling members are able to purchase selected tickets to all venues at a special discounted price.

Find out more

The team

See the provisional start list

Men’s endurance

Sir Bradley Wiggins in training at the National Cycling Centre

Sir Bradley Wiggins will make his long-awaited return to competitive action for Great Britain Cycling Team on the track, part of a strong endurance line-up that includes current Olympic champions Ed Clancy and Steven Burke as well as Jon Dibben, Mark Christian, Owain Doull and Andy Tennant.

The pool will be drawn upon for the team pursuit, individual pursuit, scratch race and Madison.

Great Britain Cycling Team's Ed Clancy in training

Mark Cavendish will also return to the boards, the two-time track world champion will compete in the event that brought him his brace of gold medals - the Madison - as well as the omnium with the the 30-year-old aiming to “keep all of my options open” ahead of the 2016 Games.

Women’s endurance

A formidable group including Katie Archibald, Elinor Barker, Ciara Horne, Joanna Rowsell Shand and Laura Trott will compete across the individual pursuit, scratch race and omnium events for Great Britain.

Laura Trott

Trott, Olympic champion in the omnium, is likely to take on the six-discipline event once more having won silver at the last two world championships.

Rowsell Shand is a former world champion in the individual pursuit from 2014 while Archibald, Barker and Horne have all won world-level events, Archibald and Barker former team pursuit world champions.

Talented British Cycling Olympic Academy athletes Emily Nelson, Amy Roberts, Manon Lloyd and Emily Kay will also be in action.

Men’s sprint

Jason Kenny

Three-time Olympic champion Jason Kenny is part of a six-man sprint squad that includes Kian Emadi, Callum Skinner, Matt Crampton, Lewis Oliva and Philip Hindes.

With no team sprint the focus will be on individual events and the chance for riders to impress across the sprint, keirin and kilometre time trial events.

Women’s sprint

Great Britain's women track sprinters in training

Becky James makes her return for Great Britain after an ongoing knee injury had ruled the 2013 double world champion out of the 2014 Commonwealth Games and 2014/15 track season - the 23-year-old was forced to miss February’s 2015 UCI Track Cycling World Championships.

London 2012 Olympian and quadruple British track champion Jess Varnish is also in the team as is newly crowned under-23 European keirin champion Katy Marchant.

Vicky Williamson, who picked up two medals at July’s UEC Under-23 and Junior European Track Championships, will feature as will double junior world champion Dannielle Khan.

Victoria Williamson

Two-time team sprint world champion Shanaze Reade has made the switch back the boards with the 500-metre time trial a good chance for the 26-year-old to test her start.

The group will compete across the sprint, keirin and 500-metre time trial.


Owain Doull

Friday 14 August: 7pm-10.30pm

Women’s individual pursuit, men’s team pursuit, women’s 500-metre time trial, men’s kilometre time trial, women’s scratch race.

Saturday 15 August: 11.15am-5pm, 7pm-10pm

Men’s individual pursuit, men’s sprint, women’s sprint, women’s omnium, men’s omnium, men’s Madison time trial.

Sunday 16 August: 12noon-5.30pm

Men’s omnium, women’s omnium, men’s keirin, women’s keirin, men’s Madison.

How to follow the racing

Jess Varnish