British Cycling announces Great Britain Cycling Team for 2015 UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships

British Cycling announces Great Britain Cycling Team for 2015 UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships

Home » Search

British Cycling has confirmed the Great Britain Cycling Team for the 2015 UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships, taking place from 31 January-1 February in Tabor, Czech Republic.

The 12-strong team includes recently-crowned elite British champions Helen Wyman and Ian Field who won the title for the ninth and the fourth time respectively at Abergavenny last weekend.

Also included in the squad is Nikki Harris who has had a strong season so far, finishing on the podium at the home round of the UCI Cyclo-cross World Cup series in Milton Keynes in November as well as junior British champion Amira Mellor who will step up to contest the elite women’s category.

Speaking of the selection, British Cycling’s cyclo-cross coordinator Stuart Blunt said: “We’ve selected a strong squad for this year’s world championships, with some experienced riders particularly in the elite squads.

“As in previous years, the British elite women have been dominant on the world stage and, with Gabriella Durrin unavailable, under-23 rider Hannah Payton and junior Amira Mellor join Nikki Harris and Helen Wyman to make up the elite women’s squad.

“Both Hannah and Amira have significantly moved up the UCI Rankings this year and the competition against the worlds-best will be valuable for their development.

“In the elite men’s category, Ian Field has performed consistently this season and recorded a career-best result in the Milton Keynes round of the world cup series.

“The under-23 and junior men squads, which includes British Cycling’s Olympic Development mountain bike rider Will Gascoyne, have all had strong seasons domestically and will benefit from the experience of competing at world level.

“Overall, we have some exciting prospects across the board and stand to finish strongly in the UCI rankings as well as in the event itself.”

Reports, results and images will appear on the British Cycling website.

You can also follow British Cycling on Twitter @BritishCycling for updates.

Great Britain Cycling Team for the UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships

Elite men

Ian Field

Elite women

Nikki Harris
Amira Mellor
Hannah Payton
Helen Wyman

Under-23 men

Nicholas Barnes
Jack Clarkson
Ben Sumner

Junior men

Will Gascoyne
Arthur Green
Alfie Moses
Joshua Waters