Welsh riders confirmed as part of the Olympic Development Programme 2011

Home » Search

Welsh riders confirmed as part of the
Olympic Development Programme 2011

British Cycling has announced the 25 riders who have been accepted on to the 2010/2011 Olympic Development Programme (ODP). This includes 3 Welsh riders, Owain Doull, Amy Roberts and Elinor Barker. The ODP is the second step on British Cycling's pathway to elite success, and aims to develop riders aged 16-18 years to a standard where they will be accepted onto the Olympic Academy Programme. A host of talented young riders will join an existing core of second year riders who have already enjoyed success on the World stage.

British Cycling's Performance Manager Shane Sutton said: "We've got 25 riders on this year's ODP, with a healthy mix across each discipline which means training camps and racing opportunities are optimised. We have 18 new recruits, of which 16 have graduated from the Talent Team programme and a significant number of these riders came through the Go-Ride programme. This is testament to the success of British Cycling's development pathway and puts us in good stead for future Olympic Games beyond London 2012."

All 3 riders are said to be delighted with news especially with the competition for places being so high.

Amy Roberts and Owain Doull pictured below in the recent Revs 30 meeting


Kyle Evans
Grant Hill
Dan McBride
Abbie Taylor
Tre Whyte

Jonathan Dibben
Owain Doull
Matthew Holmes
Christopher Latham
Sam Lowe
Josh Papworth
Harry Tanfield

Elinor Barker
Hannah Barnes
Lucy Garner
Hannah Layland
Harriet Owen
Amy Roberts

Grant Ferguson
Katy Winton

James Berryman
Jessica Crampton
John Paul
Matthew Rotherham
Victoria Williamson