Scots selected for UEC Junior and Under-23 European Track Championships

Scots selected for UEC Junior and Under-23 European Track Championships


Four Scots have been selected for the Great Britain Cycling Team heading to the UEC Junior and Under-23 European Track Championships taking place in Montichiari from 12 – 17 July.

Under-23 riders Mark Stewart and Jack Carlin will be joining Juniors Lewis Stewart and Jenny Holl – who were also selected for the earlier this month.

Mark Stewart from Dundee has been a sensation on the track – winning Gold in the scratch race at the UCI Track Cycling World Cup in New Zealand at the end of last year – so will be one to watch in the men’s endurance events.

Sprinter Jack Carlin is also no stranger to the podium and took Great Britains first medal at last year’s European Track Championships in Athens – picking up a bronze medal in the junior team sprint.

Performance Pathway Manager Ian Yates said:

“Following on from confirming that we’re sending Great Britain’s biggest junior squad yet to the European Championships, I’m pleased to confirm the under-23 squad who will be joining them in Montichiari.

Given this event is taking place in Montichiari, the home of our European training base, we will head into it well-prepared in turns of the venue, and I am sure the men that are based out there will bring the rest of the team up-to-speed on how the track runs.

Looking at the under-23 team we have selected, there’s some real talent in the squad and I’m looking forward to see us convert their performances throughout the year into podium finishes.”

Great Britain Cycling Team – UEC Under-23 and Junior European Track Championships:


Women’s Endurance

Megan Barker

Hayley Jones

Emily Kay

Danni Khan

Manon Lloyd

Emily Nelson

Men’s Endurance

Matt Bostock

Jon Dibben

Matt Gibson

Joe Holt

Chris Latham

Mark Stewart

Joey Walker

Ollie Wood

Men’s Sprint

Jack Carlin

Joe Truman

Ryan Owens


Women’s Endurance

Jessica Roberts

Eleanor Dickinson

Rebecca Raybould

Emily Tillett

Jenny Holl

Lauren Dolan

Men’s Endurance

Rhys Britton

Fred Wright

Ethan Hayter

Matthew Walls

Reece Wood

Jake Stewart

Men’s Sprint

Hamish Turnbull

Alex Joliffe

Lewis Stewart

Women’s Sprint

Georgia Hilleard

Lauren Bate-Lowe

Sophie Capewell

For more information about how to get into cycling visit