Grant Ferguson and Iain Paton to head to UCI Mountain Bike World Championships in Czech Republic

Grant Ferguson and Iain Paton to head to UCI Mountain Bike World Championships in Czech Republic


Scots Grant Ferguson and Iain Paton are two of the team of eight riders who will ride for Great Britain at the UCI Mountain Bike World Championships taking place in Nové Město na Moravě in the Czech Republic from 29th June – 3rd July.

Grant Ferguson, who will compete in the elite men’s race, has had a strong start to his debut season in the elite men’s category, with a career best position of 15th at the World Cup in Albstadt.

Iain Paton wil be representing the under-23 men's category.

Current under-23 cyclo-cross world champion Evie Richards, who has won two silver medals at World Cup level this year, will represent Great Britain in the under-23 women’s category. She will be joined by non-programme rider Beth Crumpton. Four junior academy riders complete the line-up.

Head coach Iain Dyer said: “We’re sending a youthful team to contest this year’s mountain bike world championships in the Czech Republic and I think we’re capable of delivering some world-class performances at this event.

“It’s been promising to see Evie Richards on the podium twice in her first year riding in the under-23 category and equally I think Grant Ferguson has made great progress in his debut year as in the elite male category. An obvious omission from the under-23 women’s squad is academy rider Alice Barnes who, with our support, has decided to focus on the road this year.

 “The junior riders who are in the squad have earned their places and we’ll all be keen to see how the championships help their development as members of our Junior Academy.

“With just under a month to go until the event, training is going well across the board and we’re in a good place at this stage of the preparations.”

Great Britain Cycling Team – UCI Mountain Bike World Championships:

Elite Men

Grant Ferguson

Under 23 Men

Iain Paton

Under 23 Women

Evie Richards

Beth Crumpton

Junior Men

Will Gascoyne

Cameron Orr

Junior Women

Sophie Wright

Emily Wadsworth

For more information about how to get into cycling visit